Page 5 of 5

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:09 am
by SaintsOfTheDiamond
eftda wrote:
SaintsOfTheDiamond wrote:Sorry to continue to go off topic here, but I've always been curious about Macs, but the lack of software for them always kind of scared me away. :-/


What softare are you talking about?


--------------------------
My friend just got the new vivo and I just got the new mac mini. He paid more and after using both I can honestly say that the mac mini is faster. He now is thinking about the mac mini. Its only $499!


You definitely can't argue with that price. ;-D I don't know, I guess I've just become so indoctrinated with M$ that I haven't really tried anything else. My dad has one that he uses at work and I've fiddled around with it some, but not enough to go out and buy one. I was talking mainly about games and some of the CAD programs we're using are just free demos or lite versions and I haven't found any that will run on Macs -- though I can't really say that I've made an effort to look :-D. The full versions do, but I don't want to pay several hundred dollars for a software package that I can use for free on a PC. :*)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:14 am
by slomo007
SaintsOfTheDiamond wrote:
eftda wrote:
SaintsOfTheDiamond wrote:Sorry to continue to go off topic here, but I've always been curious about Macs, but the lack of software for them always kind of scared me away. :-/


What softare are you talking about?


--------------------------
My friend just got the new vivo and I just got the new mac mini. He paid more and after using both I can honestly say that the mac mini is faster. He now is thinking about the mac mini. Its only $499!


You definitely can't argue with that price. ;-D I don't know, I guess I've just become so indoctrinated with M$ that I haven't really tried anything else. My dad has one that he uses at work and I've fiddled around with it some, but not enough to go out and buy one. I was talking mainly about games and some of the CAD programs we're using are just free demos or lite versions and I haven't found any that will run on Macs -- though I can't really say that I've made an effort to look :-D. The full versions do, but I don't want to pay several hundred dollars for a software package that I can use for free on a PC. :*)


At OU, the only engineering software offered for Macs is MatLab. None of the CADs are offered through our school, although I would imagine they are available.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:29 am
by SaintsOfTheDiamond
We don't get Maltab -- which really sucks I might add since I have to go to campus to do my HW -- but we get several circuit sim software packages technically through the developer, not the University I guess.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:36 am
by slomo007
SaintsOfTheDiamond wrote:We don't get Maltab -- which really sucks I might add since I have to go to campus to do my HW -- but we get several circuit sim software packages technically through the developer, not the University I guess.


If you ever are in Oklahoma, let me know, I can hook you up with a copy. :-b

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:38 am
by Amazinz
Doesn't AOL use it's own proprietary browser or does it still use Netscape?

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:42 am
by CubsFan7724
I can't stand macs because they don't go well with games like PCs do. A PC using Linux is probably best, according to my nerdy computer friend.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 4:48 pm
by SaintsOfTheDiamond
Did Lo ever figure this one out? :-?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 4:51 pm
by slomo007
CubsFan7724 wrote:I can't stand macs because they don't go well with games like PCs do. A PC using Linux is probably best, according to my nerdy computer friend.


Not with games, Linux has a long way to go in the ease of use and the gaming arena before it even thinks about seriously penetrating Microsoft's market share.

However, I do use it and I do like it...but the learning curve associated with such simple tasks as installing a wireless card or playing a game is really steep compared to Windows. I'm still figuring it out, but it's not easy.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:04 pm
by Lofunzo
SaintsOfTheDiamond wrote:Did Lo ever figure this one out? :-?


No, sir. It only happens now in IE, though.