Return to Analyze/Rate My Team

First auction draft done-What do I need to improve? (Keeper)

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

First auction draft done-What do I need to improve? (Keeper)

Postby KleShreen » Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:07 pm

Hello all -

So this is my first year in this keeper league. Here are the details. It is the first time I've ever done an auction draft, and I thought it was pretty fun. But I think I made some mistakes being a rookie auction draft person. I ended up with 19 dollars left over and there were a lot of guys who I sat out on just because I thought they were 1 or 2 dollars over their value that I think I could have afforded to take and built a better team, but I guess we'll see how that turns out. I'm hoping to just get some input on where you guys think I might have made some mistakes and what kind of strategy I should try and use next season. I went in to the draft thinking that I wanted the best hitter and pitcher available, which I think I got, and then trying to pick wisely after that among who I thought would be "best" at the budget prices. So that's why I have a couple guys for big bucks, and then a whole lot of players at less than $5. I don't know if I might have been better off instead being more balanced, with 10ish guys at $15 a piece with a couple higher?

I didn't really pay attention to the contract rules, which are just 3 years for every player except for a single draft pick who can be 5 years, as long as he has never played in MLB and makes his debut during the year you drafted him. With only eight keepers, I don't think it is worth it worrying about youth unless it is extreme youth, like Whitley/Luzardo/Paddack who I ended up taking. And that's why I didn't take guys who might not make their debuts this year like Joey Bart, who I am very, very high on. He would be a big dollar guy for me for next year's draft as long as nobody picks him up this year and he doesn't make his debut.