Page 1 of 1

Why Bumgarner gets the win in game 7?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 11:54 pm
by threelions
Affledt was pitching when giants took the lead, and he's by no means "ineffective in a brief appearance". so why was bumgarner credited the win, not him?


The relief pitcher who gets the win is the one who was pitching while his team took the lead, which it doesn’t relinquish.

Again, this sounds straight enough, but there are a couple of important exceptions.

1 – If the starter left with the lead, but can’t get the win because he didn’t pitch enough innings, then it’s the reliever who was deemed to be the most effective that gets credit for the win. There are no hard and fast rules to determine this.

2 – If the reliever who should get the win based on the above rules was “ineffective in a brief appearance”, then the scorer has the right to award the win to the most effective subsequent relief pitcher.

Re: Why Bumgarner gets the win in game 7?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:23 am
by Tavish
threelions wrote:1 – If the starter left with the lead, but can’t get the win because he didn’t pitch enough innings, then it’s the reliever who was deemed to be the most effective that gets credit for the win. There are no hard and fast rules to determine this.

Doesn't that pretty much explain it for you?

darules wrote: If the first relief pitcher pitches effectively, the official scorer should not presumptively credit that pitcher with the win, because the rule requires that the win be credited to the pitcher who was the most effective, and a subsequent relief pitcher may have been most effective.

Re: Why Bumgarner gets the win in game 7?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:27 am
by threelions
Tavish wrote:
threelions wrote:1 – If the starter left with the lead, but can’t get the win because he didn’t pitch enough innings, then it’s the reliever who was deemed to be the most effective that gets credit for the win. There are no hard and fast rules to determine this.

Doesn't that pretty much explain it for you?

darules wrote: If the first relief pitcher pitches effectively, the official scorer should not presumptively credit that pitcher with the win, because the rule requires that the win be credited to the pitcher who was the most effective, and a subsequent relief pitcher may have been most effective.


Starter Tim Hudson left the game with game tied 2-2, not "with the lead", this clause not applicable.

Re: Why Bumgarner gets the win in game 7?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 3:52 pm
by TheTrith
Bum didnt get the win. He got the save.
Affeldt got the W.