Return to Baseball Leftovers

Why Bumgarner gets the win in game 7?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Why Bumgarner gets the win in game 7?

Postby threelions » Wed Oct 29, 2014 11:54 pm

Affledt was pitching when giants took the lead, and he's by no means "ineffective in a brief appearance". so why was bumgarner credited the win, not him?


The relief pitcher who gets the win is the one who was pitching while his team took the lead, which it doesn’t relinquish.

Again, this sounds straight enough, but there are a couple of important exceptions.

1 – If the starter left with the lead, but can’t get the win because he didn’t pitch enough innings, then it’s the reliever who was deemed to be the most effective that gets credit for the win. There are no hard and fast rules to determine this.

2 – If the reliever who should get the win based on the above rules was “ineffective in a brief appearance”, then the scorer has the right to award the win to the most effective subsequent relief pitcher.
12-team h2h 5X5 non-keeper
J.Montero,Pujols,Craig,Plouffe,Middlebrooks,TROUT,Gordon,Ethier,Butler
KingFelix,Cain,Price,McCarthy,Lewis,Hansen
Myers,Nathan,Casilla,Romo
threelions
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

User avatar

Posts: 753
(Past Year: 6)
Joined: 10 May 2007
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Why Bumgarner gets the win in game 7?

Postby Tavish » Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:23 am

threelions wrote:1 – If the starter left with the lead, but can’t get the win because he didn’t pitch enough innings, then it’s the reliever who was deemed to be the most effective that gets credit for the win. There are no hard and fast rules to determine this.

Doesn't that pretty much explain it for you?

darules wrote: If the first relief pitcher pitches effectively, the official scorer should not presumptively credit that pitcher with the win, because the rule requires that the win be credited to the pitcher who was the most effective, and a subsequent relief pitcher may have been most effective.
Bury me a Royal.
Tavish
Mod in Retirement
Mod in Retirement

User avatar
CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe SpotterWeb Supporter
Posts: 10554
(Past Year: -510)
Joined: 3 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Why Bumgarner gets the win in game 7?

Postby threelions » Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:27 am

Tavish wrote:
threelions wrote:1 – If the starter left with the lead, but can’t get the win because he didn’t pitch enough innings, then it’s the reliever who was deemed to be the most effective that gets credit for the win. There are no hard and fast rules to determine this.

Doesn't that pretty much explain it for you?

darules wrote: If the first relief pitcher pitches effectively, the official scorer should not presumptively credit that pitcher with the win, because the rule requires that the win be credited to the pitcher who was the most effective, and a subsequent relief pitcher may have been most effective.


Starter Tim Hudson left the game with game tied 2-2, not "with the lead", this clause not applicable.
12-team h2h 5X5 non-keeper
J.Montero,Pujols,Craig,Plouffe,Middlebrooks,TROUT,Gordon,Ethier,Butler
KingFelix,Cain,Price,McCarthy,Lewis,Hansen
Myers,Nathan,Casilla,Romo
threelions
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

User avatar

Posts: 753
(Past Year: 6)
Joined: 10 May 2007
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Why Bumgarner gets the win in game 7?

Postby TheTrith » Fri Oct 31, 2014 3:52 pm

Bum didnt get the win. He got the save.
Affeldt got the W.
TheTrith
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor


Posts: 408
(Past Year: 126)
Joined: 19 Jun 2013
Home Cafe: Baseball


Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron