Page 90 of 117

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 7:09 pm
by Guy Smiley
Fantasy Sports Genie wrote:
TheTrith wrote:If you renewed a keeper league and imported rosters, thats why. It just lists the players, but you cannot do anything with them as far as positions moves go. At least not until after your league has drafted.
Also if you had players in NA slots to end the season, Yahoo does not show them on the imported rosters. You have to look at the 3013 Final Rosters to see them.

This is your answer. Players could have lost eligibility so that they can't go in the same slot they were in at the end of last year, your league could have changed the positions it uses, etc. etc. Combine that with the fact that there really isn't any need to have a positioned roster predraft, and your team page will just show your players, rather than trying to shoehorn them into specific positions.

As for the NA slots, that just sounds like a bug. I'd get that reported ASAP.


The bug has been filed and fixed for all leagues formed after Tuesday of this week. We will fix all leagues that renewed earlier than this shortly. Everyone should their NA keepers before the end of the week.

Apologies for my long absence, I have been posting elsewhere and lost track of Cafe. My bad and I will be back much more often.

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 7:17 pm
by TheTrith
Genie, thanks for clarifying my post.
I just dont understand why you would waste time moving players from roster to roster prior to the draft. You already have to manually set keepers in the draft order anyway so why do it twice?
Like you said, Yahoo cant/doesnt track off season moves, so every league that allows them will have a record of the trades already saved somewhere, so I dont see much value in manually doing adds/drops before the draft. Most of my leagues just use the message board to post any preseason trades (unfortunately there are still issues with that)


Guy, thanks for getting back to us on the NA issue. My latest league worked perfect


Here something else i'm wondering about. Might be just a bug:
Image
Why would I get that error message? I thought Yahoo switched to auto-save like in football? This implies that roster moves are NOT saved unless you actually click the "save button"?

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:32 am
by kaiser
Genie,

I've just set up the Cafe Masters League for this year, and am finding that it will not allow me to change my team name or email address. It allows me to enter the changes, but when I attempt to hit "save," nothing happens.

Any ideas of what might be wrong there?

Kaiser

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:30 am
by wrveres
kaiser wrote:Genie,

I've just set up the Cafe Masters League for this year, and am finding that it will not allow me to change my team name or email address. It allows me to enter the changes, but when I attempt to hit "save," nothing happens.

Any ideas of what might be wrong there?

Kaiser
worked fine for me

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:52 am
by ayebatter
wrveres wrote:
kaiser wrote:Genie,

I've just set up the Cafe Masters League for this year, and am finding that it will not allow me to change my team name or email address. It allows me to enter the changes, but when I attempt to hit "save," nothing happens.

Any ideas of what might be wrong there?

Kaiser
worked fine for me


All ok here

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 2:13 pm
by Guy Smiley
TheTrith wrote:Genie, thanks for clarifying my post.
I just dont understand why you would waste time moving players from roster to roster prior to the draft. You already have to manually set keepers in the draft order anyway so why do it twice?
Like you said, Yahoo cant/doesnt track off season moves, so every league that allows them will have a record of the trades already saved somewhere, so I dont see much value in manually doing adds/drops before the draft. Most of my leagues just use the message board to post any preseason trades (unfortunately there are still issues with that)


Guy, thanks for getting back to us on the NA issue. My latest league worked perfect


Here something else i'm wondering about. Might be just a bug:
Image
Why would I get that error message? I thought Yahoo switched to auto-save like in football? This implies that roster moves are NOT saved unless you actually click the "save button"?


Please check again and see if the bug is persistent. It should not be. We have had the autosave in place since football, meaning basketball, hockey and baseball all started with autosave in place. We haven't seen reports of this, so my guess is it was a glitch. However, if you are regularly seeing the alert, let me know so we can investigate and get it fixed. For what its worth, I am not seeing this issue in any of my leagues.

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:44 pm
by Guy Smiley
A few things to look forward to from Yahoo in the coming weeks:

  • 24-7 Mock drafts and 24-7 league drafts
  • Weekly leagues edit deadline moves from midnight on Sunday to 5 min before 1st Monday game
  • Conditional waivers

There will be more stuff before the season starts.

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 6:32 pm
by Fantasy Sports Genie
TheTrith wrote:Genie, thanks for clarifying my post.
I just dont understand why you would waste time moving players from roster to roster prior to the draft. You already have to manually set keepers in the draft order anyway so why do it twice?

If you want your managers to use the site to declare their keepers, then you pretty much have to do so. Otherwise they might want to protect a player that won't show on their roster, and they'll be incapable of doing it. If you are choosing to do keeper declaration offline, then there probably isn't much benefit.

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 6:34 pm
by BChinly
Guy Smiley wrote:
TheTrith wrote:Genie, thanks for clarifying my post.
I just dont understand why you would waste time moving players from roster to roster prior to the draft. You already have to manually set keepers in the draft order anyway so why do it twice?
Like you said, Yahoo cant/doesnt track off season moves, so every league that allows them will have a record of the trades already saved somewhere, so I dont see much value in manually doing adds/drops before the draft. Most of my leagues just use the message board to post any preseason trades (unfortunately there are still issues with that)


Guy, thanks for getting back to us on the NA issue. My latest league worked perfect


Here something else i'm wondering about. Might be just a bug:
Image
Why would I get that error message? I thought Yahoo switched to auto-save like in football? This implies that roster moves are NOT saved unless you actually click the "save button"?


Please check again and see if the bug is persistent. It should not be. We have had the autosave in place since football, meaning basketball, hockey and baseball all started with autosave in place. We haven't seen reports of this, so my guess is it was a glitch. However, if you are regularly seeing the alert, let me know so we can investigate and get it fixed. For what its worth, I am not seeing this issue in any of my leagues.


This usually only happens to me when I make a move on my roster then click a link right after. What's happening is your roster hasn't auto-saved yet. I may be wrong though

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:25 pm
by TheTrith
Thanks, I think you are right. It only happened a few times that one night and now that I think about I was doing exactly what you describe - clicking a link to go to a new page.
So typical user error :-D