Return to Baseball Leftovers

Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Baseball

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Re: Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Bas

Postby ramble2 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:52 am

garf112 wrote:
lastingsgriller wrote:
Fantasy Sports Genie wrote:? I do this every day. Can you clarify the issue?

Seemingly, you can make add/drops and DL moves, but can't move guys from the bench to the starting lineup and vice versa. Am I missing something?


Are you hitting the yellow pencil icon in the top right? That allows you to make changes in your lineup. On my DROID it says swap, which I think makes more sense. The yellow pencil makes it look like you are writing a note.

I make lineup changes, including swapping bench and starting lineup players, on my iPhone on a pretty regular basis. Have you tried the little yellow pencil thing up top? That should bring up a swappable roster.

I like the iPod app. I'll sometimes even use it if I have my team page up on my computer. I like that I can quickly see any players' last 7, 14, and 30-day stats.
"The game has a cleanness. If you do a good job, the numbers say so. You don't have to ask anyone or play politics. You don't have to wait for the reviews." - Sandy Koufax
ramble2
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe Ranker
Posts: 2952
(Past Year: 5)
Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Salt Lake City

Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Baseball

Postby lastingsgriller » Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:24 am

Heh, pencil icon, eh? I had no idea. That's genie thread-1, Lastings-0.
Follow me on the twit! @chadmiller16
lastingsgriller
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
Cafe WriterCafe Ranker
Posts: 3913
(Past Year: 111)
Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: ..skipping the light fandango.

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

Postby Fantasy Sports Genie » Wed Jul 03, 2013 11:54 am

lastingsgriller wrote:
Fantasy Sports Genie wrote:
lastingsgriller wrote:I think it is quite ridiculous that you can't make roster adjustments from the iPhone app. That is a problem that needs to be solved on the immediate.

? I do this every day. Can you clarify the issue?

Seemingly, you can make add/drops and DL moves, but can't move guys from the bench to the starting lineup and vice versa. Am I missing something?

Yup. I do that all the time.

Open the app
Click View Roster for the team in question
Click the yellow pencil in the upper right corner
Click on a player you'd like to move
It will present you with a list of options where you could put the player

If that doesn't work for you, let me know.
Fantasy Sports Genie
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar

Posts: 1388
(Past Year: 30)
Joined: 1 Feb 2007
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

Postby JCD » Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:31 pm

@ FS Genie
Can't make any adds, or activate player without dropping Michael Pineda, who's been transferred by Yahoo to N/A instead of staying on DL where he belongs.
JCD
Little League Legend
Little League Legend


Posts: 18
(Past Year: 9)
Joined: 8 Jan 2013
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

Postby daullaz » Thu Jul 11, 2013 4:53 pm

JCD wrote:@ FS Genie
Can't make any adds, or activate player without dropping Michael Pineda, who's been transferred by Yahoo to N/A instead of staying on DL where he belongs.


He doesn't belong on DL because he's not on DL. /problemfixed
Image
daullaz
Head Scribe
Head Scribe

EditorCafeholicCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe MusketeerPick 3 Weekly WinnerSweet 16 SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 4952
(Past Year: 83)
Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Babel

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

Postby JCD » Thu Jul 11, 2013 5:20 pm

daullaz wrote:
JCD wrote:@ FS Genie
Can't make any adds, or activate player without dropping Michael Pineda, who's been transferred by Yahoo to N/A instead of staying on DL where he belongs.


He doesn't belong on DL because he's not on DL. /problemfixed


:-t

he was placed on DL
never been activated
http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/transactions/?tc ... &year=2013
JCD
Little League Legend
Little League Legend


Posts: 18
(Past Year: 9)
Joined: 8 Jan 2013
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

Postby daullaz » Thu Jul 11, 2013 5:55 pm

JCD wrote:
daullaz wrote:
JCD wrote:@ FS Genie
Can't make any adds, or activate player without dropping Michael Pineda, who's been transferred by Yahoo to N/A instead of staying on DL where he belongs.


He doesn't belong on DL because he's not on DL. /problemfixed


:-t

he was placed on DL
never been activated
http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/transactions/?tc ... &year=2013


:-t :-t

New York Yankees optioned RHP Michael Pineda to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders.

http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/transactions/?tc ... eam_id=147


This doesn't explicitly say "activated from DL" because he wasn't ever put on the active roster. The team didn't want to carry him on the 25-man roster yet, so he was optioned at the end of the rehab assignment. You only get a limited number of days on a rehab assignment, so they either had to put him on the 25-man or option him. Remaining on the DL wasn't an option, so he was activated and immediately optioned without the team having to clear a 25-man spot. If you look at the Yankees' injury page on MLB.com, you'll see no mention of Pineda, because he's not on the DL.

http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/fantasy/injuries/
Image
daullaz
Head Scribe
Head Scribe

EditorCafeholicCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe MusketeerPick 3 Weekly WinnerSweet 16 SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 4952
(Past Year: 83)
Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Babel

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

Postby KELLYLEAK » Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:53 am

This is only my 2nd time doing fantasy baseball. I did one a few years ago. One thing that drove me nuts was when I was preparing for the draft I used yahoo's rankings- trying to figure out which round who would be my target players. i did this many times during March to get ready. Went out to Vegas for March Madness- had a tough past year & needed to get away. Anyway I came back two days before the draft feeling really prepared and yahoo fricken dramatically changed their rankings on me. I pretty much had to start all over again 2 days before the draft- not good. That would be my suggestion.
KELLYLEAK Beginner
College Coach
College Coach


Posts: 268
(Past Year: 6)
Joined: 27 May 2006
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

Postby Fantasy Sports Genie » Fri Jul 12, 2013 10:01 am

KELLYLEAK wrote:This is only my 2nd time doing fantasy baseball. I did one a few years ago. One thing that drove me nuts was when I was preparing for the draft I used yahoo's rankings- trying to figure out which round who would be my target players. i did this many times during March to get ready. Went out to Vegas for March Madness- had a tough past year & needed to get away. Anyway I came back two days before the draft feeling really prepared and yahoo fricken dramatically changed their rankings on me. I pretty much had to start all over again 2 days before the draft- not good. That would be my suggestion.

But... but...

Either I am not understanding, or I'd have to respectfully decline. We get complaints *all the time* that we don't update our O-Ranks frequently enough. If the suggestion is that we should freeze our rankings and not change them, even though the world moves on and things do change, I can't say that would be a good idea. We can't let the rankings sit in a state we know is suboptimal for a reason like this. The premise here seems to be that you were trusting our rankings, but you are unhappy that we tried to improve them. Is there something I am missing?
Fantasy Sports Genie
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar

Posts: 1388
(Past Year: 30)
Joined: 1 Feb 2007
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

Postby Skin Blues » Fri Jul 12, 2013 10:39 am

He wants them to not change so he can plan his exploitations weeks in advance of the draft without having to modify his plan. This is an idea that benefits very few people.

Now, one thing I'd like to see, which would be a major overhaul so is not likely to happen, would be to have the standings page update in real-time. Basically I don't want to have to wait 5 minutes for StatTracker to load in a separate window. I know it's a minor thing but I check the standings every day, and I imagine a lot of people do, so it adds up over the course of a season. It's enough of a hassle to deal with stat tracker that I just completely avoid it most of the time. Maybe something to just keep on the back-burner for the future.

And I mentioned this a couple times earlier in the thread, but having conditional FAAB bids is important for a serious league. This is how I explained it last time:

Skin Blues wrote:If I want to add two players, I'd need to have the claims for the second guy be conditional. ie:

Bid $3 on Edwin Jackson dropping Jake McGee
Bid $1 on Tommy Hanson dropping Jake McGee
Bid $1 on Tommy Hanson dropping David Hernandez

And so on, for maybe a handful of guys I'd like to add. The way it's actually set up, I can only make one claim for Tommy Hanson. So if I want to bid on Hanson, I have to commit to dropping Hernandez. But I could very easily still have Jake McGee if somebody else outbids me on Edwin. I can't possibly imagine this is by design. Will it be changed any time in the near future?

This would be pretty easy to implement, and seems to have been an oversight when the system was designed.
Skin Blues
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar

Posts: 3082
(Past Year: 82)
Joined: 11 Apr 2010
Home Cafe: Baseball

PreviousNext

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests