Page 109 of 117

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2014 10:47 am
by wrveres
bigh0rt wrote:
TheTrith wrote:lol the same thing happened today with Fister coming off the DL - he is still eligible to slide back into a DL slot on Yahoo.

Really, why can't they figure this out? Its been widely known for over a week that Fister would pitch today. You'd think a company like Yahoo would be able to get this right.



Oh I know, I know, its the stat providers fault :-t

I don't understand why, if there's so many issues, you continue to use the service. I stopped playing on yahoo 4 or 5 years ago and have never been happier. Its not like you're bound to them as a provider. If its bad, go somewhere else. If you're the only one in your league who feels this way, then buck up.

Also, related, the same thing you're complaining about will also happen on occasion in both ESPN and CBS. Ive seen it in both places, despite not seeing someone exploit it. It is far from Yahoo exclusive. If you're in a serious league than the commissioner can easily handle it and alert the league that trying to exploit a software/server mistake is a no no.

I feel like this isn't Earth shattering stuff. I also feel like if youre serious about fantasy baseball and play in a highly competitive league with money on the line, you need an active, competent commissioner who can act when things go awry. If you have that then suddenly things like this are non-issues and you spend less time being angry at your fantasy baseball provider.

To each their own, though.
thank you.

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 12:18 am
by TheTrith
bigh0rt wrote:
TheTrith wrote:lol the same thing happened today with Fister coming off the DL - he is still eligible to slide back into a DL slot on Yahoo.

Really, why can't they figure this out? Its been widely known for over a week that Fister would pitch today. You'd think a company like Yahoo would be able to get this right.



Oh I know, I know, its the stat providers fault :-t

I don't understand why, if there's so many issues, you continue to use the service. I stopped playing on yahoo 4 or 5 years ago and have never been happier. Its not like you're bound to them as a provider. If its bad, go somewhere else. If you're the only one in your league who feels this way, then buck up.

Also, related, the same thing you're complaining about will also happen on occasion in both ESPN and CBS. Ive seen it in both places, despite not seeing someone exploit it. It is far from Yahoo exclusive. If you're in a serious league than the commissioner can easily handle it and alert the league that trying to exploit a software/server mistake is a no no.

I feel like this isn't Earth shattering stuff. I also feel like if youre serious about fantasy baseball and play in a highly competitive league with money on the line, you need an active, competent commissioner who can act when things go awry. If you have that then suddenly things like this are non-issues and you spend less time being angry at your fantasy baseball provider.

To each their own, though.

You are completely missing my point. All my private leagues are ran by highly competent commissioners, I assure you


In the leagues that I'm frustrated with, Yahoo IS the commissioner.
They are offered a paid service, to which I subscribed. If I was only playing in my usual leagues that they offer for free, I wouldnt care. At least not nearly enough to post here about it.
But Yahoo did in fact take my money, and promised things that they never followed through with - things that are in part why I chose to pay for several of their pro leagues.
For example, they promised 24/7 drafting which was never made available.
They promised a fully functional app but a lot of the time its almost unusable because you cannot rely on it at all.
They promised a new lineup editing tool (swap mode) that was supposed to be quicker and easier to use than ever - it never works.
The list goes on...
And furthermore, the general interface is now WORSE than it was last year. When you pay for something you assume it will be better than the free version previously offered, or at the very least as functional as the previous version.

Guy Smiley came here and invited us to give feedback, so I did. (Its now apparent that he is not around these parts much, which is perfectly fine since I assume he doesnt get paid to do so)
Im not trying to be rude or demanding.
However if you didnt pay to play in any of their "Pro Leagues" I dont feel like you are in a position to comment on this specific issue.

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 10:32 am
by bigh0rt
TheTrith wrote:
bigh0rt wrote:
TheTrith wrote:lol the same thing happened today with Fister coming off the DL - he is still eligible to slide back into a DL slot on Yahoo.

Really, why can't they figure this out? Its been widely known for over a week that Fister would pitch today. You'd think a company like Yahoo would be able to get this right.



Oh I know, I know, its the stat providers fault :-t

I don't understand why, if there's so many issues, you continue to use the service. I stopped playing on yahoo 4 or 5 years ago and have never been happier. Its not like you're bound to them as a provider. If its bad, go somewhere else. If you're the only one in your league who feels this way, then buck up.

Also, related, the same thing you're complaining about will also happen on occasion in both ESPN and CBS. Ive seen it in both places, despite not seeing someone exploit it. It is far from Yahoo exclusive. If you're in a serious league than the commissioner can easily handle it and alert the league that trying to exploit a software/server mistake is a no no.

I feel like this isn't Earth shattering stuff. I also feel like if youre serious about fantasy baseball and play in a highly competitive league with money on the line, you need an active, competent commissioner who can act when things go awry. If you have that then suddenly things like this are non-issues and you spend less time being angry at your fantasy baseball provider.

To each their own, though.

You are completely missing my point. All my private leagues are ran by highly competent commissioners, I assure you


In the leagues that I'm frustrated with, Yahoo IS the commissioner.
They are offered a paid service, to which I subscribed. If I was only playing in my usual leagues that they offer for free, I wouldnt care. At least not nearly enough to post here about it.
But Yahoo did in fact take my money, and promised things that they never followed through with - things that are in part why I chose to pay for several of their pro leagues.
For example, they promised 24/7 drafting which was never made available.
They promised a fully functional app but a lot of the time its almost unusable because you cannot rely on it at all.
They promised a new lineup editing tool (swap mode) that was supposed to be quicker and easier to use than ever - it never works.
The list goes on...
And furthermore, the general interface is now WORSE than it was last year. When you pay for something you assume it will be better than the free version previously offered, or at the very least as functional as the previous version.

Guy Smiley came here and invited us to give feedback, so I did. (Its now apparent that he is not around these parts much, which is perfectly fine since I assume he doesnt get paid to do so)
Im not trying to be rude or demanding.
However if you didnt pay to play in any of their "Pro Leagues" I dont feel like you are in a position to comment on this specific issue.

Yes, but these were known issues in 2013, in Pro Leagues, as well. They're going to be issues in 2015. In all likelihood you're going to play in the Pro Leagues again, and here you'll be 12 months from now. My question is, why? You can say they promised this and that, but if you haven't learned the difference between what is promised and what the product really is by now, then you deserve what you get. I understand that you wish the service was better. Totally. What I don't understand is continually going back to the well when you know what resides in it. Go play another provider's version of a Pro League. Eliminate the headache. Do yourself the favor. You'll be happier. Cause I can assure you that they'll say in 2015 that this, that, and the other thing have been ironed out -- things they've been saying have been straightened out for 2, 3, 4 years, and again, you'll be ripping your hair out in frustration. Try out CBS. You'll love it. They've got to have something comparable to the Pro League, no? Even ESPN. A lot of people think it's horrible, but I love it. In fact, in the nearly 20 years I've been playing fantasy baseball, I think Yahoo is actually the worst provider I've ever used, and that's including Sandbox.

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 5:36 pm
by TheTrith
Fair enough.

fwiw this is the first season Ive played any of the Yahoo Pro Leagues.
I played a bunch of football ones in the fall, and I did not encounter any of the issues Ive referenced that are present in the baseball version.
Ive played almost exclusively on Yahoo over the past ~6 years, and I suppose most of my frustration stems from the product getting progressively worse (even though new features have been added).

Im not aware of any other public real money leagues run on other sites, but I do need to check those out if they exist.

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 9:51 pm
by Fantasy Sports Genie
I was visiting with friends at the Y! today, and mentioned the problem with Swap Mode. I've certainly seen it, and assumed it was widespread, but it sounds like they have NOT seen significant volume on it. Interesting.

I'm using Firefox on a Mac primarily. How about the rest of you that are having troubles? To more specifically describe what I see, I can seldom swap two players with only two clicks. Often the second click doesn't "take", or acts as if it were the first click of a player swap. Is that what you others are seeing?

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 5:29 am
by wrveres
Fantasy Sports Genie wrote:I was visiting with friends at the Y! today, and mentioned the problem with Swap Mode. I've certainly seen it, and assumed it was widespread, but it sounds like they have NOT seen significant volume on it. Interesting.

I'm using Firefox on a Mac primarily. How about the rest of you that are having troubles? To more specifically describe what I see, I can seldom swap two players with only two clicks. Often the second click doesn't "take", or acts as if it were the first click of a player swap. Is that what you others are seeing?

yes. im running chrome, and it happens often, but it doesnt bug cus i can swap two players the old way with three clicks. :-)

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 9:36 am
by ayebatter
wrveres wrote:
Fantasy Sports Genie wrote:I was visiting with friends at the Y! today, and mentioned the problem with Swap Mode. I've certainly seen it, and assumed it was widespread, but it sounds like they have NOT seen significant volume on it. Interesting.

I'm using Firefox on a Mac primarily. How about the rest of you that are having troubles? To more specifically describe what I see, I can seldom swap two players with only two clicks. Often the second click doesn't "take", or acts as if it were the first click of a player swap. Is that what you others are seeing?

yes. im running chrome, and it happens often, but it doesnt bug cus i can swap two players the old way with three clicks. :-)


This..... and I'd imagine that's what most others do too which is why your Yahoo buds don't hear much about it. ;-)

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 3:05 pm
by Fantasy Sports Genie
ayebatter wrote:
wrveres wrote:
Fantasy Sports Genie wrote:I was visiting with friends at the Y! today, and mentioned the problem with Swap Mode. I've certainly seen it, and assumed it was widespread, but it sounds like they have NOT seen significant volume on it. Interesting.

I'm using Firefox on a Mac primarily. How about the rest of you that are having troubles? To more specifically describe what I see, I can seldom swap two players with only two clicks. Often the second click doesn't "take", or acts as if it were the first click of a player swap. Is that what you others are seeing?

yes. im running chrome, and it happens often, but it doesnt bug cus i can swap two players the old way with three clicks. :-)


This..... and I'd imagine that's what most others do too which is why your Yahoo buds don't hear much about it. ;-)

Meaning you guys have switched back to Classic mode? If so, that's something they should be able to detect. They just might not have looked for the trend, and if they saw it they might not know what to attribute it to.

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 4:37 pm
by Guy Smiley
bigh0rt wrote:
TheTrith wrote:
bigh0rt wrote:I don't understand why, if there's so many issues, you continue to use the service. I stopped playing on yahoo 4 or 5 years ago and have never been happier. Its not like you're bound to them as a provider. If its bad, go somewhere else. If you're the only one in your league who feels this way, then buck up.

Also, related, the same thing you're complaining about will also happen on occasion in both ESPN and CBS. Ive seen it in both places, despite not seeing someone exploit it. It is far from Yahoo exclusive. If you're in a serious league than the commissioner can easily handle it and alert the league that trying to exploit a software/server mistake is a no no.

I feel like this isn't Earth shattering stuff. I also feel like if youre serious about fantasy baseball and play in a highly competitive league with money on the line, you need an active, competent commissioner who can act when things go awry. If you have that then suddenly things like this are non-issues and you spend less time being angry at your fantasy baseball provider.

To each their own, though.

You are completely missing my point. All my private leagues are ran by highly competent commissioners, I assure you


In the leagues that I'm frustrated with, Yahoo IS the commissioner.
They are offered a paid service, to which I subscribed. If I was only playing in my usual leagues that they offer for free, I wouldnt care. At least not nearly enough to post here about it.
But Yahoo did in fact take my money, and promised things that they never followed through with - things that are in part why I chose to pay for several of their pro leagues.
For example, they promised 24/7 drafting which was never made available.
They promised a fully functional app but a lot of the time its almost unusable because you cannot rely on it at all.
They promised a new lineup editing tool (swap mode) that was supposed to be quicker and easier to use than ever - it never works.
The list goes on...
And furthermore, the general interface is now WORSE than it was last year. When you pay for something you assume it will be better than the free version previously offered, or at the very least as functional as the previous version.

Guy Smiley came here and invited us to give feedback, so I did. (Its now apparent that he is not around these parts much, which is perfectly fine since I assume he doesnt get paid to do so)
Im not trying to be rude or demanding.
However if you didnt pay to play in any of their "Pro Leagues" I dont feel like you are in a position to comment on this specific issue.

Yes, but these were known issues in 2013, in Pro Leagues, as well. They're going to be issues in 2015. In all likelihood you're going to play in the Pro Leagues again, and here you'll be 12 months from now. My question is, why? You can say they promised this and that, but if you haven't learned the difference between what is promised and what the product really is by now, then you deserve what you get. I understand that you wish the service was better. Totally. What I don't understand is continually going back to the well when you know what resides in it. Go play another provider's version of a Pro League. Eliminate the headache. Do yourself the favor. You'll be happier. Cause I can assure you that they'll say in 2015 that this, that, and the other thing have been ironed out -- things they've been saying have been straightened out for 2, 3, 4 years, and again, you'll be ripping your hair out in frustration. Try out CBS. You'll love it. They've got to have something comparable to the Pro League, no? Even ESPN. A lot of people think it's horrible, but I love it. In fact, in the nearly 20 years I've been playing fantasy baseball, I think Yahoo is actually the worst provider I've ever used, and that's including Sandbox.


We are aware of the issues with the lateness of injury updates. It's something we need to improve; it hasn't happened fast enough.

On other complaints. 24/7 drafts were made available. Android app had some issues early on but is largely bug free now. Let me know if there are issues you are still seeing. Swap mode works for most. We are investigating the issues reported here. We have not received reports before I was alerted to the complaints in this thread.

Re: Touching base/taking requests re: Yahoo! Fantasy Basebal

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 6:35 pm
by TheTrith
Thanks Guy, appreciate the follow up.

The swap mode issue I was referring to appears to be mostly fixed now.
For about a 2 week stretch when I clicked a player to swap him, nothing would happen. No matter how many clicks, or what players I tried to move the green swappable options just wouldn't show up. NOw it seems to be working just fine. This was on Chrome and FF.

The issue that Genie refers to is still there on an intermittent basis, but thats not a big deal - sometimes it just takes 2 clicks before the software shows you the editable players. For example if you want to move Cain from your bench into a SP slot that is currently occupied by Ross, when you click on Cain and then click on Ross, it often registers Ross as the first click, and then shows the options for moving him, rather than moving Cain. Again not a big deal since its just one extra click.