Hi - Does anybody know whether IBB is included in the BB number, or separate from/in addition to the BB number?
An example: in 2012 Miggy had 66 BB and 17 IBB. Does the 17 IBB go into the 66 BB number (so 49 BB +17 IBB = 66 total walks), or is IBB over and above the BB number (so 66 BB + 17 IBB = 83 total walks).
I can't find an answer online (I searched this forum as well). Official Baseball rules read (in relevant part) per below:
10.14 BASES ON BALLS
A base on balls is defined in Rule 2.00 (Base on Balls).
(a) The official scorer shall score a base on balls whenever a batter is awarded first
base because of four balls having been pitched outside the strike zone...
(b) The official scorer shall score an intentional base on balls when the pitcher makes
no attempt to throw the last pitch to the batter into the strike zone, but purposely
throws the ball wide to the catcher outside the catcher’s box.
tx if anybody knows...
edit: Rule 2.00 defines a BB as: A BASE ON BALLS is an award of first base granted to a batter who, during his
time at bat, receives four pitches outside the strike zone. -- so I assume IBB is subsumed by BB, but not sure...