Return to Commissioner's Corner

Adding HLDs as a stat. Which stat to cut? (POLL)

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Which Pitching Stat Should Get The Axe?

Earned Runs
33%
Losses
67%

Total votes : 6

Adding HLDs as a stat. Which stat to cut? (POLL)

Postby dooz » Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:52 pm

I have been running a league for about 5 or 6 years now. When we started, none of us had much experience with fantasy at all and the thus the league settings were a little funky. We've we done the league a couple times in an effort to provide value to all facets of the game (As much as possible, anyway. We won't be adding E or F%). 5x5 is fine and is a good standard league setup but I feel (as do my league mates) that it's not an ideal league configuration.

Our current league setup is (R,HR,RBI,SB,K,BB,TB,AVG and W,L,ER,SV,K,BB,ERA,WHIP). For a couple seasons, I've been pushing for the elimination of HRs (already rewarded in TBs) but it's too "sexy" of a stat (Chicks dig the long ball), what with "Touch 'Em All", etc. so that's a battle for another off-season (as well as BB on the pitching side).

We are going to add Holds and remove either ER or L. I am posting this to get general feedback and maybe so poll votes too. I am strongly in favor of removing ER, even though we all know that W/L aren't great indications of a pitcher's performance but for fantasy purposes, it's all we really got.

I'm the commish so ultimately I make the final decision but I asked for some league feedback and it was pretty unanimously in favor of adding HLDs but there was almost 50/50 split on whether it should be ER or L.

What are you thoughts?
dooz
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

(Past Year: 17)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Adding HLDs as a stat. Which stat to cut? (POLL)

Postby bigmck » Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:11 am

I don't like Losses because it is a Negative Stat. If you want to use Losses, I would make the category "Wins minus Losses". You could had Holds that way.
bigmck
Major League Manager