An Iconic Fantasy Baseball Community
Moderator: Baseball Moderators
....interference is a judgement call so i would have to see the play to call it BUT....does your league use the double orange/white base at first ? in ASA the batter/runner is required to run to the orange half (which is in foul territory) and the defensive player uses the white (which is in fair)...IF your batter/baserunner did not go DIRECTLY to the orange part of the base then i would say the umpire made the correct call...this is the difference between the runner breaking up the DP at 2nd base and the situation you describe...Lofunzo wrote:Tavish.......I want to bump this up because we had a situation in our championship. We had a runner on 3rd, 1 out. The hitter hit a grounder to 2nd. The runner on 3rd skooted off of the base, the fielder threw to 1st, and the runner went home. When the throw went to 1st, the batter slid and broke up the play. He was out but he slid and allowed the runner at 3rd to score. They originally credited the run but said that he "interfered with allowing the 1st baseman to make a play at home" on the runner. I argued that this was no different than breaking up a DP at first. Thoughts?? This is ISA.
stevethumb wrote:actually that is obstruction not interference...and you are correct ASA is definitely safety conscious and many of their more recent rules have been directed to avoid contact...ex. double base and no fake tags...the senior ASA softball rules are antiseptic which includes 2 home plates and no sliding at any time
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests