Return to Beginner's Forum

does being hit by a pitch count towards earned run?

does being hit by a pitch count towards earned run?

Postby djxskillz » Thu Jun 14, 2007 12:39 am

john lackey's game today against the reds has him with 3 runs but only 1 earned. I don't understand this as in the 4th inning this is what happened:
b. phillips hit by pitch.
k greffy jr. walked, b phillips to 2nd
a. dunn singled to right, b phillips to third, k griffey jr to second.
e. encarnacion reached on infield single to third, b phillips scored, k griffey jr to third. A Dunn to second.
J Hamilton grounded into double play, first to shortstop to pitcher, K Griffey Jr scored, E. Encarnacion out at second, A Dunn to third.
A. Gonzalez grounded out to third.

In the next inning lackey gave up a solo home run so they are only counting that run as earned? How is that 4th inning not earned?????
djxskillz
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor


Posts: 791
Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: does being hit by a pitch count towards earned run?

Postby GiantsFan14 » Fri Jun 15, 2007 4:13 am

yes HBP do count towards ERs, the problem your seeing is with the gamelog..i'm guessing it was changed because encarnacion did not reach on an infield single, it was ruled a throwing error on figgins, thus the inning would have ended on the double play and no runs would have scored
Image
25
GiantsFan14
Baseball Scribe
Baseball Scribe

User avatar
EditorCafeholicCafe WriterGraphics ExpertMock(ing) DrafterWeb SupporterPick 3 Weekly Winner
Posts: 14179
(Past Year: 302)
Joined: 12 Mar 2006
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: BUSTER HATH ARRIVED


Return to Beginner's Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron