Return to Classifieds

Second year keeper league seeks new blood

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Second year keeper league seeks new blood

Postby offspeed » Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:58 pm

Hi all

I'm a manager in a second year keeper league with a keeper rule format that may interest and challenge some. It's a 16-team roto league (conducted via Yahoo!, no money involved) where the keeper designations are largely based on where that player was/is drafted. If you like strategy and prepping for drafts, this league should interest you.

First off, the stat categories:

Batters: R, HR, RBI, SB, BB, K, GIDP, FPCT, AVG, SLG
Pitchers: W, SV, HLD, K, GIDP, HR, ERA, WHIP, K/9 (There will be another category added. Last year we used Total Bases.)

Rosters:

Batters: C, 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, 3 OF, Util
Pitchers: 3 SP, 3 RP, 2 P
6 Bench
3 DL

Onto the aforementioned keeper rules:

1. Each manager may keep 7 players who were on their roster at the end of the Winter Meetings (2/1/07).
a. 2 players may be from any tier.
b. 3 players may be from tiers 2 or 3.
c. The final 2 players may only be from tier 3.

2. Any player placed on a roster will be assigned to a tier according to these guidelines:
a. Drafted in 2006 in rounds 1-7 or after 2006 in rounds 1-5 will be placed in tier 1.
b. Drafted in 2006 in rounds 8-20 or after 2006 in rounds 6-13 will be placed in tier 2.
c. Drafted in 2006 in rounds 21-23 or after 2006 in rounds 14-16 will be placed in tier 3.
d. Acquired from free agency will be placed in tier 3.
e. Players claimed off waivers and traded players will retain their previous tier assignments.
f. Undrafted players claimed off waivers will be considered free agents and placed in tier 3.
g. Upon clearing waivers and becoming free agents, players will be released from their tiers.
h. Unkept players entering a new draft as free agents will be released from their tiers.
i. Kept players will retain their tier assignments.