An Iconic Fantasy Baseball Community
Moderator: Baseball Moderators
Despite all the penalties, many bartenders who spot a fake ID simply confiscate it and kick the kid out of the bar. When charges are filed, first-time offenders usually get probation and small fines.
Prosecutions of fake-ID peddlers remain relatively rare. One 19-year-old Tallahassee, Fla., man busted for running a fake-ID site was sentenced to probation and 15 days of picking up trash along highways, Leon County prosecutor Betsy Sinphay says.
F.S.S. 322.32: Unlawful use of license is a second degree MISDEMEANOR.
This statute makes it unlawful to display, cause, permit to be displayed, or have in your possession any canceled, revoked, or suspended, disqualified, fictitious, or fraudulently altered driver's license. It is also unlawful to lend a license to any other person or knowingly permit its use by another.
Example: An older sibling or friend loans their driver's license to younger sibling or friend who uses it to get into clubs/bars; the older sibling would be charged. To display, or represent as your own or any driver’s license not issued to you is also illegal.
Example: Same scenario as above but this time the younger sibling or friend would be charged.
F.S.S. 322.212: Unauthorized possession or other unlawful acts in relation to, driver's license or identification cards is a third degree FELONY.
It is unlawful for any person to knowingly have in their possession any blank, forged, stolen, fictitious, counterfeit, or unlawfully issued driver's license or identification card. It is unlawful for any person to barter, trade, sell, or give away any driver's license or identification card or to perpetrate a conspiracy to barter, trade, sell, or give away any such license or identification card unless authorized.
Example: A person provides false information or someone else’s information about their identity to the Division of Driver’s Licenses and has an official ID card or DL made with their photo on it and the erroneous information they provided.
Example: A friend has a "board" made that you stand in front of and have your photo taken so that the photo looks like an official ID card or DL issued by the State of Florida.
If your child is a first-time offender, he may be eligible for a number of programs, such as Teen Court, in which your child could get the charges dropped.
Omaha Red Sox wrote:Many times, at least from what I've seen in regards to traffic violations, cops don't even show up to court. Many times it's dismissed. Whether this is relevant in your situation....
Simulacrum wrote:Wish we could see your mugshot.
I wouldn't stress about this too much.. it's a misdemeanor and will most likely be removed from your permanent record after a couple of years.
Hope you don't get sentenced to sobriety classes.. those are expensive and terrible (I hear)
RyanK wrote:Im having a great weekend...
Just got written up last night for drinking in the dorms...
I hate college... or well loud obnoxiously stupid drunk people who run around at 3 am waking people up
But I'm gonna talk to one of my friends parents whose a lawyer back home see what the recommend before paying for one down here..
Coppermine.. yeah Florida's laws are a little ridiculous and Im hoping I just get Comm Service and I can live with a licence suspension because I dont have a car down here
Users browsing this forum: LoSeesteDom and 3 guests