Page 1 of 2

How is this ruled?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:29 am
by pangbones
If a man is on first, and the guy batting hits a single, and the man on first advances to 2B, does the batter get charged with a man left on base? :-?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:39 am
by ukjohn
no, only on an out does LOB come into play

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:39 am
by Old_Style
:-? why would he get charged with a man left on base if both are still safely on base?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:41 am
by Smileyman9
I'm not sure I follow the question.

In this hypothetical scenerio are we saying that the team batting has 2 outs and the batter hits into the third out? Or are we saying the batter hits a grounder that's fielded and the advancing runner is forced out at second?

Or as stated above me...if both are safe, why would anyone be charged with a man LOB...if anything it's just advancing the runner..

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:41 am
by TheYanks04
No. The inning must end.

"A baserunner is said to be left on base (abbreviated LOB) when the half-inning ends, he has not scored, and he has not been put out. A baserunner is considered to be left on base whether he causes an out, or maintains baserunner status during an inning-ending play."

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 1:06 pm
by rainman23
I think we're missing some crucial words from this question.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 7:20 pm
by cakewalk5
I think the question misinterpreted LOB from the beginning. I'm guessing the hitter was still on base when the third out was created.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:24 pm
by bdrotoronto
rainman23 wrote:I think we're missing some crucial words from this question.

I would hope so. :-o

Far as I know, a player is only credited with LOB when he hits into the third out of an inning.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:18 am
by pangbones
TheYanks04 wrote:No. The inning must end.

"A baserunner is said to be left on base (abbreviated LOB) when the half-inning ends, he has not scored, and he has not been put out. A baserunner is considered to be left on base whether he causes an out, or maintains baserunner status during an inning-ending play."


Thank you! ;-D