paulman8 wrote:what happens if the person asking the question thinks that there is only one answer, but in fact there are 2. If someone guesses the other answer first, shouldnt they be awarded the correct answer? Or do both players get it some how? (the guy who guessed the correct answer first and the guy who guessed the correct answer that the person asking the question wanted) Is this taken care of by moderators some how? It might not seem like this is a common occurence, but it just happened to me in the no-hitters post. I'm just wondering what the ruling is on this. Thanks for hearing me out.
Sorry for the late reply. Came back from vacation a couple of days ago and am slowly but surely digging my way through my inbox.
Generally, the person who asks the question is the judge in that particular thread. We don't overrule him unless he messes up completely (e.g. requiring Elvis Presley as the correct answer
). In this case, Posada said that he used ESPN and a second almanac as sources, so that's what his question is based on.
I'm aware that in a judicial sense, your answer may be right, too, but if I award you a point, the game will become unplayable, so it's pretty much a matter of principle. I'd say that's quite similar to the trivia games from your toy store: more than once did we come across a card where the "official" answer was doubtful, but after endless discussions we finally agreed that the answer printed on the card should stand. That ended all discussions, made the game more fun and quicker, too. (And what goes around comes around - it's the same situation for everyone.)
Paul, I hope my answer makes sense - if it does, we'll add another paragraph to the rules. If you would like to discuss this any further, just go ahead.
P.S. Of course it would be best to have an official game judge - but then, that person would not be allowed to play himself.
"Never argue with an idiot. People won't know who's who."