I think the rationale is that when there is a man on 3rd and less than 2 outs a normal ground out could be considered as the batter's attempt to try and plate the run. Another words, intentionally giving yourself up for the run. However, nobody intentionally hits into a double play. That's my perspective.
no rbi, because the batter did not "earn" the rbi... he caused 2 outs by his at bat,,,, so it was more of "luck" that there was a runner on 3rd that scored..... basically the batter did not get the runner in,, the runner scored on his own is how MLB scorers consider it.....
"FIELDER'S CHOICE is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers (a) to account for the advance of the batter runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner; (b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and (c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal).
You make 2 outs in 1 AB, you do not deserve an rbi...simple as that. There is no mystery to the origin of the scroing rationale here.
If anything, scoring rules are way way too lenient and should be tightened up to reflect the fact that these are supposed to be Major Leaguers not Beer Leaguers.
You can't assume a DP?...Why? A SS or 2b mishandle a sure DP on a hard hit grounder right at someone with the bases juiced and 1 out and Bengie Molina hitting, only get the out at 2b and the batter gets an rbi, the pitcher is charged with an earned run and no error is given. This makes sense?
Balls hit right at players or ole'd as infielders try to side handle a ball they should have gotten in front of are misplayed and players are often award hits.
An OF so misjudges a ball that he turns an out into an in the park homer because he never even managed to get his glove on it? Please.
I have even seen on occassion a ball going through an infielders legs being called a hit...laughable.
For whatever reason, scorers have sided with the hitters and the fielders so that they only upset one player (the pitcher) when it is even slightly in doubt in a lot of cases...simply wrong.