Page 1 of 2

Turnbow, no save last night in 9-6 win?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 7:41 am
by Jmon
Looks like Turnow came on in the bottom of the ninth in a 9-6 game, got the out but no save according to Yahoo. Am I missing a nuance in the rules or is Yahoo off on this?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 7:50 am
by bdrotoronto
There was a thread on this in the Game Commentary section yesterday. Apparently the 3-run rule only applies if you come in to start the 9th, but if you come in in the middle of the 9th the tying run must be on deck. :-?

I've been following baseball for 20 years and have never heard of this rule, but I have to concede their analysis appears to be correct, no save.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:02 am
by theclefe
bdrotoronto wrote:There was a thread on this in the Game Commentary section yesterday. Apparently the 3-run rule only applies if you come in to start the 9th, but if you come in in the middle of the 9th the tying run must be on deck. :-?

I've been following baseball for 20 years and have never heard of this rule, but I have to concede their analysis appears to be correct, no save.


I didn't see the game, but hve him on my roster. His whip was 3.00 which means he loaded the bases. That means the tying run was on first and the winning run at the plate. Doesn't make sense to me either.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 9:02 am
by Area51's
Did anyone see the Cincy game? Belisle pitches 2 perfect innings, up by 4, and doesn't get the save??

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 9:09 am
by rotterdam_82
theclefe wrote:
bdrotoronto wrote:There was a thread on this in the Game Commentary section yesterday. Apparently the 3-run rule only applies if you come in to start the 9th, but if you come in in the middle of the 9th the tying run must be on deck. :-?

I've been following baseball for 20 years and have never heard of this rule, but I have to concede their analysis appears to be correct, no save.


I didn't see the game, but hve him on my roster. His whip was 3.00 which means he loaded the bases. That means the tying run was on first and the winning run at the plate. Doesn't make sense to me either.


His WHIP was 3.00 because he only got 1 out, 0.1 IP with a 3.00 WHIP = 1 baserunner. If he'd pitched a full inning and not allowed anymore on base then his whip would have levelled to 1.00 (1 per inning)

Beside which, the tying run must be on deck when he enters the game. He cannot put himself into a save situation.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 9:10 am
by rotterdam_82
Area51's wrote:Did anyone see the Cincy game? Belisle pitches 2 perfect innings, up by 4, and doesn't get the save??


Because he had a 4 run lead perhaps? :-?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 9:27 am
by baseballnewb
Credit a pitcher with a save when he meets all three of the following conditions: (1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and (2) He is not the winning pitcher; and (3) He qualifies under one of the following conditions: (a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; or (b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batsmen he faces); or (c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings. No more than one save may be credited in each game

He didn't pitch a full inning so rule a didn't apply, the potential tying run wasn't on deck so rule b didn't apply, thus no save.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 11:00 am
by Strasil42
Area51's wrote:Did anyone see the Cincy game? Belisle pitches 2 perfect innings, up by 4, and doesn't get the save??


c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings. No more than one save may be credited in each game

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 11:04 am
by Secret Avatar
Technically, the tying run needed to be on deck in order for Turnbow to get the save in that situation. It wasn't so he doesn't get a save. Technically. In the real world, however, Turnbow saved the game for Sheets and rescued Wise from an atrocious 9th inning.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:20 am
by theclefe
rotterdam_82 wrote:
theclefe wrote:
bdrotoronto wrote:There was a thread on this in the Game Commentary section yesterday. Apparently the 3-run rule only applies if you come in to start the 9th, but if you come in in the middle of the 9th the tying run must be on deck. :-?

I've been following baseball for 20 years and have never heard of this rule, but I have to concede their analysis appears to be correct, no save.


I didn't see the game, but hve him on my roster. His whip was 3.00 which means he loaded the bases. That means the tying run was on first and the winning run at the plate. Doesn't make sense to me either.


His WHIP was 3.00 because he only got 1 out, 0.1 IP with a 3.00 WHIP = 1 baserunner. If he'd pitched a full inning and not allowed anymore on base then his whip would have levelled to 1.00 (1 per inning)

Beside which, the tying run must be on deck when he enters the game. He cannot put himself into a save situation.


ahh ;-D