An Iconic Fantasy Baseball Community
Moderator: Baseball Moderators
mikcou wrote:plus it would be a balk anyway...
Andy1234 wrote:I am missing it too, I'm curious to know why it works, and if it does why hasn't it been used?
Arlo wrote:Andy1234 wrote:I am missing it too, I'm curious to know why it works, and if it does why hasn't it been used?
Normally, if the pitcher throws to an empty bag from the windup it's a balk (not a ball). In this case, however, with the runners going with the pitch, there's a play to be made. The throw is legal, and the runner can be tagged...
I'm not sure why it isn't used. The one time this play was tried (at least from what I've read) was in the minors. The manager who came up with the strategy informed the umpires in advance to make sure they'd make the correct call (as is common if a trick play is planned), but for some reason, an umpire told the opposing manager. When the situation came about, the runners didn't take off with the pitch, and the throw was ruled a balk. And that was the end of that play...
Mookie4ever wrote:The one trick that I have always wondered about is this:
No-one on base.
Batter has two strikes and fewer than three balls.
The pitcher uncorks a wild pitch, to the backstop, into the stands or into the dugout.
Why doesn't the batter swing at it for strike three and then run to first base on the wild pitch?
Users browsing this forum: BrianEi, Danielrit, Francisfoer and 2 guests