Mozilla Thunderbird - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Mozilla Thunderbird

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Mozilla Thunderbird

Postby SaintsOfTheDiamond » Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:43 am

I've never used any sort of mail program (ie Outlook) before, so these questions probably aren't really a Thunderbird problem. :*)

Anyway, I'm trying to setup my new Gmail account so I can get my messages in T-Bird and I keep getting an error message. It works find for one of my school email accounts, but not the other (one is general University email and the one that works is my engineering account). I downloaded and tried to run the "Pop goes the Gmail" program on this page, but when I run it it gives yet another error message.

I'm sure the problem is between the chair and the computer on this one -- I'm not very good with all these different internet things yet. :-° I've read through most of the help pages at mozilla.org concerning T-Bird, and still can't get it to work right. There was something else I had a question about too, but I don't remember what it was. :-?
Member #4 of the Inaugural Yadier Molina Fan Club!!!
SaintsOfTheDiamond
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Fantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe Ranker
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby slomo007 » Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:50 am

Is your engineering account at your school a "Microsoft Exchange" account. AKA "Exchange" account? Exchange accounts aren't able to be checked from off-campus at my school, without first being connected to our school's VPN (Virtual Private Network). So as a replacement, you can visit an exchange mail website to check it.

If you have no idea what I'm talking about, chances are it's not an exchange account...meaning it is a POP account and should be able to be checked with email programs such as T-bird or Outlook.

I am about to go to bed, but when I wake up if your question hasn't been answered I'll read your response.
slomo007