H2H strategies - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

H2H strategies

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

H2H strategies

Postby curious_george_43545 » Mon Jan 31, 2005 10:30 pm

Ok since I'm new to fantasy baseball this year, I don't know much about the strategies behind H2H and Roto. All I have heard is Roto is more pitching but still hitting oriented and H2H is more hitter oriented than Roto. Is this true? Also in H2H since my first season is going to be in a H2H league what should you try to get in what rounds in a draft besides obviously the best person. Any strategies that are good to use in a H2H format are appreciated. ( Snake Draft not auction ). THanks in advance.
curious_george_43545
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Amazinz » Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:31 pm

I'm not sure Rotisserie is more about pitching but it is more about balance. In H2H it's easier to overcome weaknesses in certain categories by being dominant in others. Of course you need to have more dominant categories than weak categories.

In H2H I normally target an ace pitcher (a top K guy) in rounds 2 or 3. Then forget about pitching until rounds 10+. I want to get at least 1 decent closer so I may reach for one earlier than 10 if they're going off the board quickly.

Punting is a viable strategy in H2H but I'm not a fan of it. Even if you get just 1 closer and then work the WW during the season you have a shot at that category.

A guy like Podsednik is ALOT more valuable in H2H than in Roto. He gives you a shot at winning SBs every week and he can be had a lot cheaper then the top shelf basestealers.