Roto vs. H2H - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Roto vs. H2H

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Roto vs. H2H

Postby cannonarm21 » Thu Dec 30, 2004 11:53 am

I am still somewhat new to fantasy baseball. This will be my third year doing a H2H 12 team league. I actually won it the first year, but stumbled a bit last year.

I understand the H2H leagues inside and out, but can somebody explain what a "roto" leagues is a little more?

Thanks.
cannonarm21
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby trevisc » Thu Dec 30, 2004 12:22 pm

Roto leagues are where you have stats like in h2h but they accumulate over the whole season and you get points for where you place in each category.

In a 5x5 league with 12 teams, for instance, you'd get ranked from 1-12 (12 being highest) on how you do in each stat. Then you add up all your points and the team with the most points at the end of the year wins.

So your lowest you could do is 12 and the highest is 144 but most leagues that i've done the winner usually has in the 90's.

Hope that helps!
trevisc
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Fantasy ExpertCafe Ranker
Location: Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2004,2005 Keeper League Champion

Postby Cornbread Maxwell » Thu Dec 30, 2004 12:42 pm

I also want to mention that the strategies between the two are very different. Certain players are more valuable in roto than they are in h2h and vica versa. The way you manage IP and GP is different too.

Its much harder to punt a catagory in roto and still win.
Cornbread Maxwell
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicFantasy ExpertPick 3 ChampionSweet 16 Survivor
Home Cafe: Football

Postby cannonarm21 » Thu Dec 30, 2004 12:49 pm