Really, I think that they should have given him 3 ER for the ones he gave up and not counted the baserunner who got on on the E. That is what I saw so I'm not sure where they get off giving Counsell the hit either. The whole thing is pretty darn shady and does kind of make me wonder how often this stuff goes on in games I don't have the opportunity to see!!
I'd always thought that a runner who got on on an E was not an earned run. I was not at all aware of the bit about going 'well, if he got out, then the next guy wouldn't have hit so his run should not have been earned either. Nor the next two guys'. That does not seem logical or in any way based on the rules. I don't think that it's fair to Prior to let him off w/o some of those runs. He gave up the runs and should get tagged. He should NOT have gotten that Error run though.
AcidRock23 wrote:I think that it would be better if they didn't announce these numbers DURING the game. I just about fell off of my couch when they said 'Prior only got one earned run there...' around the time they took him out. Obviously, that would 'devalue' stat-tracker type of things but, if they are at all on the fence, they should just wait until they are sure.
Huh? They see the replay god knows how many times during the game. They should be able to make the call right then. I want to know what changed after the game for him to take away the error. Seems like a completely bogus call to me.