I'm New To This, Is This Idea Crazy - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

I'm New To This, Is This Idea Crazy

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

I'm New To This, Is This Idea Crazy

Postby FantasyRook2020 » Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:56 pm

This is my first year and im in first in my league but I dont think it may last very long. Im in the top 3 in most of the offensive categories and first in WHIP and ERA, im middle of the pack in Wins and second in saves and 4th or so in K's. My question is this, if I trade all of my stud pitchers for stud offensive players and quality CL and MRP and just pitch with my closers and middle relievers, with high K rates and low Whip and ERA, such as Lidge, K-Rod, Wagner, etc. will i be able to win my league or will the loss of points in wins be too much of a blow. Im sure I could improve my offense to look unstoppable, such as using my studs like Sheets and Mulder to get Beltran and Vlad and such. By creating a team that could potentially sweep HR, R, RBI, AVG, SB, ERA, WHIP, and Saves. Then only areas i would hurt in would be K's and Wins.
FantasyRook2020
T-Ball Trainer

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby ajgnydc722 » Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:57 pm

This is a very common method, not stupid at all. I've never used it but from what I've heard, it works very well. Ask other about it because I'm not how much help I would be.
ajgnydc722
General Manager
General Manager

Postby thehat » Tue Jun 29, 2004 7:04 pm

I doubt you can punt two categories and win. One, perhaps, but not two. A balanced team with no glaring weaknesses is the way to win. The idea is not to slaughter the competition in any one category at the expense of another. You don't get extra points for margin of victory in a category.
thehat
General Manager
General Manager

CafeholicFantasy Expert

Postby matmat » Tue Jun 29, 2004 7:09 pm