General pitching strategy - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

General pitching strategy

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

General pitching strategy

Postby Berge20 » Mon Jun 28, 2004 11:35 pm

This is my first year of fantasy anything, but loving it a great deal (too much probably)

We're playing a standard 5x5 H2H in yahoo and I've only been using closers and starters. Would it be useful (assuming I have a spot or two) to add a middle reliever or two who consistently has an ERA below 1.5 and Whip around 1? Assuming they get reasonable workloads....
Berge20
College Coach
College Coach

(Past Year: 1)
Home Cafe: Football

Postby godallahstar » Mon Jun 28, 2004 11:56 pm

they could lower your ERA, WHIP, give you more strikeouts,
and possibly even some wins.

the only downside is, taking up your alotted innings.
godallahstar
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Berge20 » Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:05 am

In this particular league, there are no max inning (only minimum) so thinking of picking up someone like Mota (LA) or Otsuka (SD)
Berge20
College Coach
College Coach

Home Cafe: Football

Postby agchris02 » Tue Jun 29, 2004 1:58 am

how the hell do you have a 5x5 H2H league???

if its 5x5 league, then yeah middle relief can help you with K's, era, and whip...in a H2H league theyre worthless, dont get pts on a regular basis at all
Jackalope
agchris02
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Postby KolbSaves » Tue Jun 29, 2004 2:08 am

agchris02 wrote:how the hell do you have a 5x5 H2H league???

if its 5x5 league, then yeah middle relief can help you with K's, era, and whip...in a H2H league theyre worthless, dont get pts on a regular basis at all

Quite simple, there are the 5x5 catagories to match up in h2h, each catagory win is a point. That's how the hell.