I am facing the guy who has him this week, so this means a lot to me. There was an error in the inning, but I dont think the error gave up a run which wouldnt have scored later in the inning. Does anybody have the log for the inning?
He did, but then Arod hit a fly-ball to deep right (or left), so Cairo then would have scored tagging up. Jeter would then have been on second, and would have scored on Sheff's HR. The error did nothing to change the outcome of the inning, except for allow one more yankee hitter to face Kennedy.
Amazinz wrote:OK when Arod hit the sac fly and Jeter scored that is the unearned run.
10.18 (b) No run shall be earned when scored by a runner who reaches first base (3) because of any fielding error.
I think you are on the right track, but have missed the mark a bit. Jeter didnt get on first because of the error. The play was ruled a fielder's choice, but then the error allowed Jeter to reach second (without the error, Jeter would have been out). Thus Jeter wouldnt have been on base, and could not have scored. Damn. No ER for that one.
Amazinz wrote:The reasoning was right but it was the wrong play. Brain fart.
Jeter reached because of the HBP. Williams reached on the error so when Sheffield hit the HR, Williams' run was not earned.
Not that it matters, but I dont think Williams reached on the error. I think he reached on a fielder's choice, but Jeter reached second on the error. Otherwise, the fielder's choice would have gotten Jeter out. Jeter's run was unearned.