eftda wrote: Tavish wrote:
barry4prez wrote:Who cares...he got away with it...don't blame him; blame the stupid umpire. Besides, the game was over anyway...I believe it was 11-2 Giants at that point.
The game being basically over makes the move even more lame. If you are up by 9 for the love of god swing the bat.
I can see a team doing it in extra innings but it was out of place... Does any one know the offical rule if the umps thinks the player tried to get hit?
MLB Rule 6.08
The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when
(b) He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched.