Pitching Strategy - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Pitching Strategy

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Pitching Strategy

Postby Zethos » Fri Jun 04, 2004 5:18 pm

I am new to fantasy baseball and am looking for some strategy help. My league's pitching catagories are W L SV H R BB K ERA WHIP. Its a H2H league. 7 inning minimum. What should my strategy be for knowing which Pitchers to start? Most guys in the league start all or most of their starters each week. So far, I have noticed that I would have won more catagories if I had only started only one starter per week, my best pitcher. That way I would win L, H, R, BB, ERA, and WHIP. I would loose W, and K. Does that make sense, should I only play one starting pitcher a week? Or is that dishonest since the other teams usually start all or most of their pitchers?

Thanks alot for the help.
Zethos
College Coach
College Coach

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Lofunzo » Fri Jun 04, 2004 5:34 pm

You could use something like the LIMA plan, where you go with RP and a stud SP or 2. It all depends on your roster.
Lofunzo

ModeratorCafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe RankerEagle EyeHockey ModPick 3 Weekly Winner
(Past Year: 11)

Postby WhiteHot » Fri Jun 04, 2004 5:52 pm

Those scoring cats are screwed up. Generally, people use 5x5 providing wins, saves, ks, whip, and era. Three of those cats are based on total number while only two are averages. Therefore, you cannot throw the majority of categories.

With your scoring system, you can easily throw 4 of them (L, BB, H, R). That's 4 out of the 9. As long as you keep ERA and WHIP under control, you could take 6 of 9 cats right there, losing only saves, wins, and ks. If you used dominant relievers like gagne and foulke, you have a shot at saves as well.