What is a "Hold" exactly?? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

What is a "Hold" exactly??

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

What is a "Hold" exactly??

Postby stymie38 » Wed Jun 02, 2004 8:27 am

I apologize if this is a stupid question, but I'm new to a Yahoo! league.

Last night, Quantrill pitches 1.2 innings against Balt. Gives up 1 hit, no runs, and protects a 7-3 lead.

Yet he doesn't get credit for a "Hold".

I've also seen pitchers get credit for both a "Hold" AND a "Win" in the same relief appearance.

What's the criteria?
stymie38
College Coach
College Coach

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Thats NOT Snowflake » Wed Jun 02, 2004 8:45 am

From MLB.com

The "Hold":
The hold is not an official statistic, but it was created as a way to credit middle relief pitchers for a job well done. Starting pitchers get wins, and closers -- the relief pitchers who come in at the end of the game -- get saves, but the guys who pitch in between the two rarely get either statistic. So what's the most important thing one of these middle relievers can do? "Hold" a lead. If a reliever comes into a game to protect a lead, gets at least one out and leaves without giving up that lead, he gets a hold. But you can't get a save and a hold at the same time.

"A Hold is credited any time a relief pitcher enters a game in a Save Situation, records at least one out, and leaves the game never having relinquished the lead.

In other words, you have to enter a game in a save situation, get somebody out, and exit the game with the same save situation intact."

I believe Quantrill didn't get credit for the HOLD because he was protecting a 4 run lead. If it had been a 3 run lead he would have gotten the HOLD.
Thats NOT Snowflake
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Postby stymie38 » Wed Jun 02, 2004 9:14 am

Okay, thanks. I was wondering if the 4-run lead was a factor.