The Big Bad Veto - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

The Big Bad Veto

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

The Big Bad Veto

Postby pokerplaya » Wed May 19, 2004 12:48 pm

Hey everyone, I'm fairly new around here but I'm a veteran of fantasy sports and I just thought I'd start a discussion about the veto. I'm sure you're all familiar with it, as I am sure each and everyone has experienced a deal where it was misused.

I've been in countless leagues where a veto has been used when it shouldn't be. To me, the veto is simply there for when there is a case of clear collusion. However, it is now used as a tool to try and control the aspects of your league. If the trade doesn't help you, shoot it down.

Many owners cry out that "one owner is ripping off the other" and while this may be the case, who is that owner to judge. Every manager should have full control over his/her team, and another team should not exude their "superior knowledge" over the other owner.

The veto has obviously been abused in many leagues, and offers are vetoed with far too much regularity. As far as I'm concerned, the trade is another means that a manager has to improve their team. The draft, FA pickups, and daily roster moves are all part of that same formula. The trade is just another part of this that is to be manipulated to improve your team.

I guess this post is a rant of sorts, because I am tired of people vetoing everything and anything in their leagues. I feel that those who veto trades are actually limiting the competition in their leagues. They cry foul that the deal was unfair, but they are really bothered because it hurt their chances to win, not because it was a mistake for one team. I believe that these owners should rise above, and not veto. Win despite these perceived bad trades. If you win, you know you won without playing God to all of the trades that didn't help your team.