Is It An Earned Run If Pitcher Commits Error? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Is It An Earned Run If Pitcher Commits Error?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Re: Is It An Earned Run If Pitcher Commits Error?

Postby matmat » Mon May 17, 2004 4:48 pm

Yikes wrote:say if the pitcher goofs up and allows runners on base because of his own fielding errors (such as a bad throw off a bunt), will he get charged an earned run if that baserunner eventually scores?
:-?


edit yes --> no... as that is the correct answer, then there is qualification.

no, as long as the batter would not have reached without an error.
suppose batter bunts and gets to first and the throw is late and off-line and allows the batter to get to second. Then it is a single and an error and the run is earned, if ,say, the next guy hits a HR and there aren't 2 outs already.
Last edited by matmat on Mon May 17, 2004 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day, teach a man to fish and he'll drown because you forgot to teach him to swim.
[url=http://www.indra.com/8ball/front.html]Invaluable Fantasy Baseball Resource[/url]
matmat
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar

Posts: 4120
Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: North cross down

Re: Is It An Earned Run If Pitcher Commits Error?

Postby rolenfan » Mon May 17, 2004 4:55 pm

matmat wrote:
Yikes wrote:say if the pitcher goofs up and allows runners on base because of his own fielding errors (such as a bad throw off a bunt), will he get charged an earned run if that baserunner eventually scores?
:-?


yes, as long as the batter would not have reached without an error.
suppose batter bunts and gets to first and the throw is late and off-line and allows the batter to get to second. Then it is a single and an error and the run is earned, if ,say, the next guy hits a HR and there aren't 2 outs already.

You can't really answer the original question above because there is not enough information. Saying "yes" and then qualifying that with additional assumptions is not a correct answer. Based solely on the question as it was asked, the answqer is no, it would not be an earned run.

Matmat, your answer would be correct IF the additional criteria you added were right, but that is not what Yikes asked. You could just as easily assume that there were already two outs when the error was made.
"You can observe a lot by watching" Yogi
rolenfan
College Coach
College Coach

User avatar

Posts: 315
Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: St. Louis

Re: Is It An Earned Run If Pitcher Commits Error?

Postby matmat » Mon May 17, 2004 5:00 pm

rolenfan wrote:yes, as long as the batter would not have reached without an error.
suppose batter bunts and gets to first and the throw is late and off-line and allows the batter to get to second. Then it is a single and an error and the run is earned, if ,say, the next guy hits a HR and there aren't 2 outs already.

You can't really answer the original question above because there is not enough information. Saying "yes" and then qualifying that with additional assumptions is not a correct answer. Based solely on the question as it was asked, the answqer is no, it would not be an earned run.

Matmat, your answer would be correct IF the additional criteria you added were right, but that is not what Yikes asked. You could just as easily assume that there were already two outs when the error was made.[/quote]

thanks for catching the screw-up. I thought one thing and wrote the other. it is not an earned run unless some other stuff happens.
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day, teach a man to fish and he'll drown because you forgot to teach him to swim.
[url=http://www.indra.com/8ball/front.html]Invaluable Fantasy Baseball Resource[/url]
matmat
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar

Posts: 4120
Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: North cross down

Postby DieHardCubbie » Mon May 17, 2004 8:53 pm

Amazinz wrote:I don't know if this is a good explanation or not but the spirit of the rule is than you are only allowed to sacrifice yourself. You can't sacrifice another batter. This would allow players to get credited with a non-AB for a DP.


Best explanation I have heard.... ;-D
[b]Useless Trivia of the day[/b]

England's Worcester Canoe Club set the world record for paddling a hand-propelled bathtub. The 25 man team covered a distance of 55 miles, 425 yards in 24 hours on September 28 and 29, 1979.
DieHardCubbie
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Fantasy ExpertMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeInnovative MemberPick 3 Weekly Winner
Posts: 13084
Joined: 13 Feb 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: floating around on the 3rd rock

Previous

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: scarnicease and 10 guests

Forums Articles & Tips Sleepers Rankings Leagues


Today's Games
Friday, Sep. 19
(All times are EST, weather icons show forecast for game time)

LA Dodgers at Chi Cubs
(2:20 pm)
Boston at Baltimore
(7:05 pm)
Toronto at NY Yankees
(7:05 pm)
Milwaukee at Pittsburgh
(7:05 pm)
Washington at Miami
(7:10 pm)
indoors
Chi White Sox at Tampa Bay
(7:10 pm)
indoors
NY Mets at Atlanta
(7:35 pm)
Cleveland at Minnesota
(8:10 pm)
Detroit at Kansas City
(8:10 pm)
Seattle at Houston
(8:10 pm)
Arizona at Colorado
(8:10 pm)
Cincinnati at St. Louis
(8:15 pm)
Philadelphia at Oakland
(9:35 pm)
Texas at LA Angels
(10:05 pm)
San Francisco at San Diego
(10:10 pm)

  • Fantasy Baseball
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact