Is Anyone Wathing Baseball Tonight? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Is Anyone Wathing Baseball Tonight?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Is Anyone Wathing Baseball Tonight?

Postby KPucks » Sun May 02, 2004 7:25 pm

Did you just see the segment about OBP? Harold Reynolds was saying that a guy like Jimmy Rollins (.309 OBP) is more valuable to a team than a guy like Varitek (an OBP near .400 last year) b/c Rollins scored more runs. That is total bull. The only reason Rollins scored more runs is because his teammates drove him in more. In the end, Varitek had way more chance to score runs, his teammates didn't drive him in. If I was a manager, I would want the guy that has more chances to score than the guy that got lucky and scored more despite being on less. What do you guys think?
KPucks
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Pick 3 Weekly WinnerSweet 16 Survivor
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Yin_Xu88 » Sun May 02, 2004 7:29 pm

this has nothing to do with wut harnold said, but i just cant stand the new guy on that show

hes always talkin about juan pierre, and how hes soo great, he even said that pierre is more dominat then Bonds
Yin_Xu88
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Postby Pedro » Sun May 02, 2004 7:30 pm

If I was a manager or GM I would value OBP above all else.

But in the case of Rollins vs Varitek he does have a somewhat valid point.

Rollins was more valuable to his team than Varitek simply because he scored more runs. It's hard to argue with that fact.

But that specific case aside, not looking at runs scored as it is more dependant on the protection you have and your line-up, anyone with the higher OBP is obviously more valuable.

Reynolds has gotten dumb this year...I swear.