"Punting" a category - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

"Punting" a category

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

"Punting" a category

Postby krunchyfrogg » Tue Jun 04, 2002 5:53 pm

Is this a good strategy, or a bad one?

As I said in a previous post, I'm currently in last place, and although the season is far from over, I'm looking to learn more for next season.

If you are going to punt a category, which is the best to ignore? I would assume either Saves or Stolen Bases, but I'm no expert!

Thanks

8-o
Looking forward to back to back championships in 2011!
krunchyfrogg
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby EugeneStyles » Wed Jun 05, 2002 12:19 am

If you're going to punt, definitely go with Saves or SB's, no doubt about it. Those are pretty much the 2 categories that don't fit with the others, at least in a standard 4x4 or 5x5. Holds are also a good choice, if you happen to be in a league that counts them.

As for whether or not punting is a good strategy, check to see what your points would be if you led every category, and came in last in two of them. In a lot of leagues, that would either not be enough or barely be enough for first. Since you're not guaranteed to win every other category, it might not be a good idea.

On the other hand, sometimes you can decide to punt (usually just one category) on draft day, either based on the draft pool available for the year or else based on drafting in the early rounds (if 8 out of 10 teams choose a heavy SB man in the first few rounds, or for high bids, why bother to compete? Just opt out and go for the sluggers).