Iffy trade question - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Iffy trade question

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Iffy trade question

Postby Apollo » Sat Mar 22, 2014 3:14 am

Hey guys, I've been commissioning a league for many years. Tom is a long time member, and about six years ago we were short an owner, so he invited his friend Pete to join. Pete hasn't ever been a contender, but he's a nice guy, everybody liked him well enough, and he's active, so he has stuck. The problem is, about once per year, he and Tom make a trade that is clearly (but not obscenely) lopsided in Tom's favor. We've generally chalked it up to Pete not being very good and Tom talking his friend into things, and it's not like Tom is dominating the league, so we haven't done anything about it.

Anyway, Pete just traded Hanley Ramirez (his first-round pick) to Tom for Martin Prado (10th round) and Bobby Parnell (18th round). On the one hand, our league counts doubles, which makes Prado a little more valuable, but on the other hand, it's a fairly shallow league and there are a couple of closers sitting on waivers. It's hard for me to justify this.

I don't know Pete that well, and I don't really want to call him out. I don't even really think that they're colluding. But it's also kind of unfair to everyone else that Tom gets an easy boost to his team every year. What would you do, fellow commissioners? Or do you think I'm crazy and this trade is legit?
Apollo
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

(Past Year: 1)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Iffy trade question

Postby MoHead » Sat Mar 22, 2014 12:58 pm