H2H Points League - Scoring System Thoughts? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

H2H Points League - Scoring System Thoughts?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

H2H Points League - Scoring System Thoughts?

Postby Gumby Two Step » Wed Feb 12, 2014 2:46 pm

I'm running a Yahoo H2H Points Baseball League this year for the first time. I've been playing Fantasy Baseball for about 5 years and I've always played H2H Categories...so I wanted to experiment with something different this year. I play H2H Points in both Football and Hockey and they work great, but I'm having some slight issues figuring out how to work the scoring system for baseball. Here are the things I'm trying to keep in mind when deciding on how to work the scoring system.

1. New League - have a few New players so I want to keep things simple enough that nobody gets confused.

2. Balance between Hitters & Pitchers - I dont want either or to be overpowered so that you can just target one or the other and dominate the league.

3. What to do with Relief Pitchers - I've gone back and forth with how to work the roster slots whether to do 6 SP & 3 RP, or just 9 P, but I cant seem to figure out a way to adjust so that RP dont get taken advantage of. If I do 9P I feel like most people would just throw away RP and just draft nothing but SP, but if I do 6SP/3RP, I feel like people would just try to draft RP eligible SP's instead of drafting closers like theyre supposed to. Not sure if there is really a fix for this one but any thoughts would be appreciated. Currently I have RP's balanced to be amongst the best in the league in points to try to persuade people to take closers instead of RP eligible SP's, but im not sure this is the best course of action.

Here are my current Stat Categories and Point Values -

Batters

Runs = 1
Singles = 1.5
Doubles = 2.5
Triples = 3.5
Home Runs = 4.5
RBI = 1
Steals = 3
Walks = 1.5