Converting to an auction draft from a snake - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Converting to an auction draft from a snake

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Converting to an auction draft from a snake

Postby thatguysound » Wed Jun 26, 2013 9:05 pm

Hey all...

I had been toying around with the idea of converting the 10 team league I run from a snake draft to an auction draft, and was wondering if anyone had any thoughts or tips. Its not quite as simple as just assigning values, I don't think.

10 team league, 25 man rosters (not including DL slots). We switched to a H2H format (with 6 team playoffs) at the beginning of last season in the hopes of preventing manager malaise. I've been running the league for almost 15 years now with basically the same people. 6 of us were in the original league, and nine of us have been in the league for the past 7 years. The last manager turnover we had was three years ago. The league has always been a snake draft, determined by a combination of where your team finished and the overall strength and depth of the players you keep. Trades are permitted all year long, and draft picks are tradable commodities.

The drafts at this point, while still one of my favorite days of March, have become pretty monotonous at times. We know the kinds of players the other managers like so much that it takes some of the mystery out of draft day. And with the keeper system, there are couple of teams that always seem to be especially stacked right off the bat, which ultimately contributes to managers falling out of the race and losing interest. So I'd like to make it an auction draft next year, that gives managers more of a chance to get some of the justifiably hoarded talent.

(Just as an example, we had one team keep Kershaw, Strasburg, Braun, Kemp, and Trout, while another kept Freeman, Panda, Andrus, Cain, and Heyward.)