Online draft prep- how do you draft - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

Online draft prep- how do you draft

Online draft prep- how do you draft

Postby KELLYLEAK » Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:08 pm

I'm relatively new to fantasy baseball. I'm going to be in an online league with time limits with some guys from college. Anyway, how do you rank your players and prepare when drafting. I'm not very tech savvy and looking for advice/tips to have a smooth draft.

1.) Do you go old school- using a pen and paper to rank the guys by position- circling who you've picked and crossing off who was taken. Is there enough time do that between picks?

2) Do you prerank your players on the website yahoo, espn. Is that secure?? For ex- can the commissoner see your rankings prior to the draft?

3) Do you just go with yahoo or espn's default rankings?

4. Do mocks really help or are they pretty much useless for reliably projecting when players will go?
KELLYLEAK Beginner
College Coach
College Coach

(Past Year: 10)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Online draft prep- how do you draft

Postby germani40 » Tue Feb 26, 2013 2:36 pm

Ive done it a couple ways. Most often I just go with the league site that we draft on because a lot of times guys go around their rank or ADP in that draft. A couple times I have copied and pasted these into an excel spreadsheet then went and ranked the guys myself and then found the difference between the 2. Guys who have a negative number (League ranking - My ranking) are guys I typically dont draft because they are supposed to go higher than I would take them and visa versa for guys with positive numbers. Easiest way is to just do some mocks and youll get a feel of where you would like to take guys and who is going way too early for you.
germani40
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

(Past Year: 98)

Postby Chaos151p » Tue Feb 26, 2013 7:45 pm