SpecialFNK wrote:I didn't know about the AB rule or having enough AB to qualify or whatever. but if he had the right number of AB, then regardless of what MLB or what he would want, he would be leading the league in hitting. whether he cheated or not, he still accumulated the AVG. you can't take away those hits. \
if you try and say the numbers he had shouldn't count, then shouldn't you also say that the Giants wins in which he helped should noti cheated to get statistics, then he cheated to help the Giants win.
as far as I know, in the future whenever you look back at the leaderboard for the 2012 season in AVG, Melky Cabrera will be first. will there be/should there be some type of asterisk there?
He won't be first, his name simply won't come up in a BA qualified search. He's no different than a guy who goes 1 for 1 and bats 1.000 who doesn't win the BA title.