Question about how to approach Dynasty Draft year 1 - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Draft, Trade, Keeper and Waivers Questions

Question about how to approach Dynasty Draft year 1

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Question about how to approach Dynasty Draft year 1

Postby Bonzai Baseball » Wed Mar 28, 2012 7:48 pm

I am brand new to the dynasty league set up. I am participating in my first dynasty draft this weekend. The league is a 5 X 5 roto league.

Roster Composition:

2 C
1 1B
1 2B
1 SS
1 3B
1 MI
1 CI
5 OF
1 U
9 P

7 Bench
3 Minor League Players

Each year teams can keep up to 23 players. The draft is a snake draft. Every year there will be a draft of 10 rounds to pick up additional players (over the 23 keepers). You can keep less than 23, but you still only get 10 picks in the draft. There are no player salaries. There are no penalties to keeping a player for as long as you like.

What is the best way to approach the league. I found the league in league classifieds, so I am very hesitant to pick all top prospect young guys like Harper, Strassburg, Trout, Lawrie, etc. However, in a dynasty league with no penalties I am thinking this might be the way to go.

The question for those of you in dynasty leagues: If you could start over, would you draft top prospect and young keeper guys, or would you try to win it all now and worry about prospects in year 2 and beyond? Can't wait to hear your feedback.

Thanks,

Scott
Bonzai Baseball
Little League Legend
Little League Legend

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Question about how to approach Dynasty Draft year 1

Postby HOOTIE » Wed Mar 28, 2012 7:59 pm

Draft the best guys available to start.
Maybe by round 5, start to give young upside guys a boost in rankings.
Don't over reach for say Trout, when a Alex Gordon is there.
Smells Like Teen Spirit
HOOTIE
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicResponse TeamFantasy ExpertCafe Ranker
(Past Year: 297)