Anonymous wrote:Holds are handled just like Saves.
A middle reliever enters the game in the 7th or 8th inning. He must enter the game in a save situation AND leave the game with the save situation still intact.
Some sites say he must record an out while others say he doesn't have to record an out.
Hope this helps.
It's not just the 7th or 8th inning.
The Yahoo rule follows the "must record an out" definition.
A Hold is credited any time a relief pitcher enters a game in a Save Situation (see definition below), records at least one out, and leaves the game never having relinquished the lead.
Note: a pitcher cannot finish the game and receive credit for a Hold, nor can he earn a hold and a save.
A Relief Pitcher is in a Save Situation when upon entering the game with his club leading, he has the opportunity to be the finishing pitcher (and is not the winning pitcher of record at the time), and meets any one of the three following conditions:
he has a lead of no more than three runs and has the opportunity to pitch for at least one inning, or
he enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, at bat, or on deck; or
he pitches three or more innings regardless of the lead and the official scorer credits him with a save.