8/24: Venting, Asdrubal's Ding Dongs, Feeding One's Family - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

8/24: Venting, Asdrubal's Ding Dongs, Feeding One's Family

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

In your competitive league(s), what place are you in?

1st
34%
2nd
22%
3rd
9%
4th
9%
5th
6%
6th
6%
7th
6%
8th
3%
9th
3%
10th or below
No votes

Total votes : 32

8/24: Venting, Asdrubal's Ding Dongs, Feeding One's Family

Postby CharlatanSin » Wed Aug 24, 2011 7:31 am

After a few weeks dealing with the chaos of moving, I'm back in the saddle. My brain has been more scattered than Pat Summitt's. I've left my beloved NYC for New Haven, CT to begin graduate school. Yes, I'm a graduate student, which explains why I need several hundred words to express an idea that a sane person would get across in one sentence; e.g., I could simply say "Hey, it's Cal Ripken's birthday today, I like him!" But in between hitting the books and trying to figure out if my new neighbor Brandon Larsen is the former Reds bust, I still have time to play fake baseball.

First, a little rant regarding real baseball: I'm planning on giving up cable, but New Haven apparently counts as NYC's media market, so the Yankees are blacked out on the MLB TV online streaming dealie. What a crock. I guess it could be worse. I've heard that Iowa has like 6 teams that are considered its "local team," and are therefore blacked out. Anyway...

That rumbling you east coast people felt yesterday? That was the shockwave from a blockbuster trade:

Arizona traded the struggling Kelly Johnson to the Toronto Blue Jays on Tuesday, picking up second baseman Aaron Hill and infielder John McDonald in return.