hockeykidb3 wrote:putz got the save, you have to read between the lines on the ESPN news post, saying "it wouldn't be suprising" indicates it is the author of the post speculating, where "utz is expected to return to the closer role immediately." is more likely to come from the Dbacks management, being the ones who actually make that decision
Don't care. Two things: 1) You're missing the point - what you wanted to do was against league rules and common sense, and 2) regardless of what someone at rotowire says that's then dumped onto ESPN's blurb that you're counting as exhaustive research on your part, closers, more often than not, return and are not thrown right into the highest leverage situations right off the bat, and even if such a situation is to arise it's unlikely statistically that a save situation will even present itself. Don't skew the information because your gut feeling worked out this time.
Like most of the questions you post in CC, this one had an easy answer. No. You wanted to DL a player your fantasy provider hadn't listed on the DL yet, and you then wanted to switch that player for a guy (coming off the DL) you wanted to insert into your active lineup after the day's first game started, even though your league's settings dictate that this is against the rules and cannot be done.
The half of the advice/news you took to heart happened to come true this time and you missed a save as a result - the kicker? You should have missed the save no matter what because you wanted to violate league rules to get your hands on said longshot in the first place ...