Potential keeper strategy... thoughts? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Draft, Trade, Keeper and Waivers Questions

Potential keeper strategy... thoughts?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Potential keeper strategy... thoughts?

Postby TheGhost » Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:55 am

I play in a ten team, H2H, yahoo keeper league. We get to keep two players from rounds 1-5, two players from rounds 5-10, and two players from the rest of the rounds. Every keeper player is to be kept at one round higher then the previous year. One important thing to note: We don't have to keep anyone in any round. Meaning all keepers could be free agents and you'd just lose the last six rounds of the draft. I realize it's early but this is my first year in this format and am just trying to get a grasp of this. Below is how my draft played out.

1. (7) Carlos González OF
2. (14) Roy Halladay SP
3. (27) Kevin Youkilis 1B,3B
4. (34) Ian Kinsler 2B
5. (47) Jason Heyward OF
6. (54) Yovani Gallardo SP
7. (67) Jay Bruce OF
8. (74) Mike Stanton OF
9. (87) Elvis Andrus SS
10. (94) Pedro Alvarez 3B
11. (107) Brett Anderson SP
12. (114) Matt Wieters C
13. (127) Daniel Hudson SP
14. (134) Joe Nathan RP
15. (147) Jeremy Hellickson SP,RP
16. (154) Starlin Castro
17. (167) Brian Roberts 2B
18. (174) Brandon Lyon RP
19. (187) Matt Garza SP
20. (194) Ian Kennedy SP
21. (207) Daniel Bard RP
22. (214) Michael Pineda SP
23. (227) Mike Morse 1B, OF
FreeAgent: Eric Hosmser

I'm thinking most owners will probably keep their 1st couple picks. I'm thinking of letting Halladay and CarGo walk and maybe draft them again since I'd have a first and a second round pick.

Given the keeper paramaters described above... what keepers would you select at this point of the year? Thanks!!
TheGhost
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Cafeholic
(Past Year: 103)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Potential keeper strategy... thoughts?