A dirty strategy or cheating? Opinions please... - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

A dirty strategy or cheating? Opinions please...

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

A dirty strategy or cheating? Opinions please...

Postby jvdesigns » Wed Apr 27, 2011 8:44 am

Hello All..I'm new to fantasy baseball this season. I signed up for both a 5x5 rotis league as well as a head 2 head point based league. The head 2 head weekly points based league I'm doing is a money league through CBS. The scoring system definitely benefits strong starting pitching- 3 points for every inning pitched, 7points for a win, 3 points for a quality start, 0.5 points for each strikeout, -1pt for each run, -1pt for a hit, 7pts for a save, -5 points for a loss, -1 point for a walk. . The league has roster requirements for starting lineups-5 starting pitchers and 2 relief pitchers. Needless to say, with this scoring system, teams that have more starts from pitchers in any given week have a big advantage. Well this week I noticed that my opponent has an unusually high number of pitching starts. When I looked at his starting lineup-I realized that he is somehow using starting pitchers in his reliever spots. He is using M. Harrison, and P Coke (both of which are starting pitchers) as his relievers. Both of these guys each have 2 pitching starts this week-which means he's netting an extra 4 pitching starts this week-which is grossly unfair. Starting pitchers are by far and away the highest scoring players in our league. At 3points/inning, a greater potential for wins, a greater potential for strikeouts, a potential for quality starts, it's easy to see how playing 7 starting pitchers is far more favorable than playing 5 starters and 2 relievers. When I brought this up in our league's message board, my opponent posted that it is a sound strategy and that I am in the wrong for not using it. The problem stems from CBS giving