Advice needed...how to use bench and DL spots on ESPN/Yahoo - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

Advice needed...how to use bench and DL spots on ESPN/Yahoo

Advice needed...how to use bench and DL spots on ESPN/Yahoo

Postby drez » Sat Apr 09, 2011 2:48 pm

I'm new to fantasy baseball (and fantasy sports all together). I used to be a huge baseball fan, but fell away from the sport in the late 90's when i was in high school. I've had a desire to get back into the sport and felt fantasy baseball could be a fun way to relearn who the players are and of course make the game a little more interactive vs just watching my Astros play.

I've done a tons of reading over the last few days, but not really knowing what I was doing, I created a couple teams on ESPN and Yahoo each. I figure I'll settle into a format I like and will likely focus on one team later on the season. I have H2H and Roto leagues on both ESPN and Yahoo.

I still have a ton of questions, but there are a few specific things I was hoping people on here could help me with. It is mainly questions on how to handle injuries, pitchers and players who are off on certain days. Since each site is a bit different in the setup, I'll ask questions specific to Yahoo and ESPN.

Yahoo: I have a roto league with a C, 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, OF, OF, OF, Util, Util, SP, SP, RP, RP, P, P, P and 5 Bench spots. I have a H2H team with the same setup but only 3 bench players vs 5 for the roto. I believe there is only one DL spot on each.

My questions are as follows for these:

1.) How should I handle pitching composition? I know 4 of my 7 pitcher slots have to be an SP or RP (2 SP spots and 2 RP spots). What should the composition of the other 3 P spots be? Is it better long term to have deeper RP or SP?