How to make a stagnant team competitive... - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

How to make a stagnant team competitive...

How to make a stagnant team competitive...

Postby dangadd » Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:48 am

All,

I am new to fantasy baseball (not many people play in th UK) and have just been offered a place in an 8 man Head to Head league including a couple of people I know (hence my interest in joining). However the draft had already taken place and the team I have been given was the team without a manager. It doesn't have many players worth keeping in it. The other teams are stacked (and the rosters are very deep with LF,RF,CF,OFx3 and Utilx2). I have started to add a few FA to make the team more competitive but then it struck me that I might need to think outside the box a bit.

I looked at the scoring categories and decided to try and think up a strategy that may give me a chance at winning.

Batters Stat Categories(8): Runs (R), Home Runs (HR), Runs Batted In (RBI), Stolen Bases (SB), Strikeouts (K), Batting Average (AVG), Grand Slam Home Runs (SLAM), Double Plays Turned (DPT)

Pitchers Stat Categories(6): Wins (W), Shutouts (SHO), Saves (SV), Strikeouts (K), Earned Run Average (ERA), (Walks + Hits)/ Innings Pitched (WHIP)

There do not appear to be any restrictions on the number of games played or innings except that your pitchers must pitch 7 innings combined in the week.