Homerun only league help - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Homerun only league help

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Homerun only league help

Postby sadlyajetsfan » Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:46 pm

It's my first time doing a hr only league. There are no positions, just pick whichever player you want. Are there rankings around here for that type of league?
10 team,H2H,5x5
C-Montero
1B-A.Gonzalez
2B-Utley
3B-Longoria
SS-Reyes
1B/3B-Morneau
2b/SS-K.Jonhson
OF-J.Upton,CarGo,Pierre
UTL-Rasmus
P-Hamels,Nolasco,W.Rodriguez,Garza,Wagner,Aardsma
BN-Span,Slowey,Liriano,E.Santana,Gregg, Pelfrey, Street
DL-B. Anderson
sadlyajetsfan
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Homerun only league help

Postby CBMGreatOne » Tue Mar 22, 2011 9:33 pm

I think your best bet is to go to a site like ESPN with sortable projections and simply sort by total HR. You can then break everybody down by position. If the projections also list a # of ABs, after all of the 20+ HR hitters are gone, start weighing your choices against HR/AB ratio. There's no point in drafting a player like Rajai Davis obviously, but there is also almost just as little point in drafting any players that you know for sure can't hit as many as 20 HRs.

We have a thread here called Wisdom of the Crowds Projections or something like that, which is a database of the average projections of nearly a dozen fantasy providers that would be an excellent resource. Remember to sort by HRs, think in terms of HRs per AB in the late rounds, mix in some gut feeling and you should do well. It's as simple a format as they come and Adam Dunn is pretty easily the #1 pick for me. I guess if it's a really small league guys like Tulo and Cano could be candidates at the top as well.
CBMGreatOne
General Manager
General Manager

(Past Year: 226)

Postby sadlyajetsfan » Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:45 pm