NEW GUY NEEDS HELP! - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

NEW GUY NEEDS HELP!

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

NEW GUY NEEDS HELP!

Postby coolwaterx » Sun Mar 09, 2003 8:16 pm

I'm new to fantasy baseball and am playing in a 7 team rotisserie league with these statistical categories:

Starting Positions: C, 1B, 1B, 2B, 2B, 3B, 3B, SS, SS, OF, OF, OF, Util, Util, SP, SP, RP, P, DL, 8 bench

How should I draft my team according to these rules? Thank you.

Statistical Categories (Batters): Batter Games
Runs
Hits
Doubles
Triples
Home Runs
Runs Batted In
Stolen Bases
Walks
Strikeouts
Total Bases
Batting Average
On-base Percentage
Slugging Percentage

Statistical Categories (Pitchers): Games Started
Wins
Losses
Complete Games
Shutouts
Saves
Strikeouts
Earned Run Average

My top 7 are:
1. Alex Rodriguez
2. Randy Johnson
3. Vlad Guerrero
4. Alfonso Soriano
5. Barry Bonds
6. Curt Schilling
7. Albert Pujols
coolwaterx
College Coach
College Coach

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Ike » Sun Mar 09, 2003 9:04 pm

First, let me comment on your league in general. It is *very* unusual for a fantasy league in several ways: very few teams, unusual mix of positions, unusual scoring categories. There's nothing wrong with that, mind you (I just ran the draft for an unusual league in Yahoo myself), but I must say I don't recommend starting off your rotisserie career in such a league.

Folks will disagree on where to start, but I'd say a shallow draft is good for a beginner, but still at least 10 teams, perhaps a minimum of 12 or 14 in a mixed league. And go with a standard 5x5 (hitter AVG, R, RBI, HR, SB; pitcher W, S, K, ERA, WHIP), or something at least close to that. Also a league close to the most common position options... something like C, C, 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, CI, MI, Util, 5 OF, 9 P.