Draft Advice - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Draft, Trade, Keeper and Waivers Questions

Draft Advice

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Draft Advice

Postby kesaber » Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:34 pm

In a few days I'm going to draft a team in a 10 team H2H league with 10 hitting and 10 pitching categories.

R, H, HR, RBI, SB, IBB, K, GIDP, AVG, XBH

W, L, CG, S, BB, K, GIDP, HLD, ERA WHIP, with a minimum of 50 innings pitched required

This is my first year drafting a team, so I wanted to know if you guys could tell me what you think of my draft strategy.

Round 1-5 I'll draft hitter. 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, and probably catcher. For rounds 6-10 I would draft closers, possibly drafting OFs if another good closer is far away. Then I'll draft the rest. My strategy is to focus on hitters, then closers, and I'm not worried about SPs. The reason is it seems pitching categories favor closers. With enough closers on my team I should win: L, S, BB, HLD, ERA, and WHIP. That's six out of the 10 categories. There are no max acquisitions in the league, so my plan to get the 50 innings was pick up a different SP every day depending on who they were matched up against.
Do you guys think this is a workable strategy? Why not if you don't think so, or is there anything you think I should change to improve my draft?

Thanks,
WHIR
10 team H2H.

Offense:

Pitching:

W, L, CG, SV, BB, K, GIDP, HLD, ERA, WHIP - with a minimum of 50 innings played

C, 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, IF, LF, CF, RF, OF, Util, SP, SP, SP, RP, RP, RP, P, P, P, BN, BN, BN, BN
kesaber
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Home Cafe: Basketball

Re: Draft Advice

Postby dhibbit@gmail.com » Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:37 pm

That sounds like a bad idea.

You need 50 innings, which is a ton of opp to get plenty of Ls, so forget that as a guaranteed stat.

You're also going to lose W and CG and K.

ERA and WHIP isn't guaranteed with a roster of closers.