Pitcher Strategy - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

Pitcher Strategy

Pitcher Strategy

Postby kesaber » Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:43 pm

10 team H2H league

I'm new to fantasy baseball and baseball in general so bear with me. In my league there are 10 pitching categories. W, L, CG, SV, BB, K, GIDP, HLD, ERA, AND WHIP. I was thinking of my drafting strategy of drafting all batters first, and then draft pitchers. Also, I wanted to go heavy on relief pitchers instead of starting pitchers. The reason being I feel confident I would win: L, SV, BB, HLD, ERA, and WHIP, assuming my opponents go for more starting pitchers. That means I'd have good offense, and I'd win 6/10 pitching categories. Why would this potentially be a bad idea.

Again, sorry, but I haven't even really watched baseball before and don't know how it works, but I heard that there's no way of knowing if a relief pitcher was going to play or not. We have no max acquisitions in my league, so I was going to pick up and drop relief pitchers on a daily basis so that I could get the minimum 50 innings in. Is it true there's no way to know ahead of team what relief pitcher/closer is going to play? Is there anyway to manipulate my strategy to make it better or should I ditch it all together?

Thanks
10 team H2H.

Offense:

R, H, HR, RBI, SB, IBB, K, GIDP, AVG, XBH

Pitching:

W, L, CG, SV, BB, K, GIDP, HLD, ERA, WHIP - with a minimum of 50 innings played

C, 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, IF, LF, CF, RF, OF, Util, SP, SP, SP, RP, RP, RP, P, P, P, BN, BN, BN, BN
kesaber
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Home Cafe: Basketball

Re: Pitcher Strategy

Postby RyeWhiskey » Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:16 pm

kesaber wrote:10 team H2H league