H2H hitters ranking strategy - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

H2H hitters ranking strategy

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

H2H hitters ranking strategy

Postby Asgardian » Sat Mar 05, 2011 12:23 pm

I've played fantasy football for nearly 20 years, but I'm relatively new to fantasy baseball and facing my first live draft ever in a couple of weeks. I play in a 12-team H2H league that uses the standard Yahoo 5x5 scoring format (R, HR, RBI, SB, AVG).

I'm trying to figure out a way of ranking batters by a single index score based on projected stats for 2011. Does it make any sense to simply sum R, H, RBI, and SB for each player -- add them all together and look at the total number for each player? (Then look at AVG as the tie breaker?) (Let's assume the projections are reasonable.)

I realize I would need to take position scarcity into account after that, but I'm just trying to figure out why summing those four categories wouldn't make sense. Also, I would have the individual category numbers to look at for each player, too; I wouldn't rely on only the index.

Any comments or different ideas would be appreciated.
Asgardian
Little League Legend
Little League Legend

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: H2H hitters ranking strategy

Postby mtxdevil » Sat Mar 05, 2011 12:31 pm

Just summing the numbers won't work since the values of each single number in each category is different.

For example: One SB is worth more than one run or RBI.
mtxdevil
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Postby Asgardian » Sat Mar 05, 2011 12:39 pm

mtxdevil wrote:Just summing the numbers won't work since the values of each single number in each category is different.